Instructions to Authors in the Health Sciences
Provided and maintained by: The University of Toledo, Health Science Campus. Mulford Library.

- Instructions for Authors

Links to Web sites which provide instructions to authors for journals in the health and life sciences. All links are to publishers and organizations with editorial responsibilities for the titles.
Finding Appropriate Journals
- Journal Impact Factors
Journal Citation ReportsĀ® from ISI. - Ulrichsweb.com
To identify and find periodicals, such as scholarly journals, magazines. Provides publisher information and information on rights and permissions. Links are available for online titles and also to publishers. Search for "information for authors".
Locating Refereed (Peer-Reviewed) journals in Ulrichsweb.com

Ulrichsweb.com (Ulrich's Periodical Directory) may be used to identify "scholarly" journals. The icon of the referee's shirt indicates that the journal is peer-reviewed. If the icon is not present, the journal is not peer-reviewed. "As used in the Ulrich's knowledgebase, the term refereed is applied to a journal that has been peer-reviewed. Refereed serials include articles that have been reviewed by experts and respected researchers in specific fields of study including the sciences, technology, the social sciences, and arts and humanities."
Limiting to peer-reviewed articles in Searches

The peer review process: Prior to publication, other scholars in the field critically assess a draft of the article. Peer-reviewed journals (also called refereed journals) only publish articles that have passed through this review process.
Some online databases offer options to locate peer-reviewed journals:
•You may limit your search to "peer-reviewed"
•You may be offered an option to select scholarly articles after you conduct your basic search
Database examples to try:
- Academic Search Complete
- ACS(American Chemical Society)
- CINAHL Plus with full text
- PsycINFO
Under the "Special Limiters" category, click on the pull-down menu at Special Feature and select "Peer Reviewed" - Science Direct
Determine if a Journal publishes scholarly / peer-reviewed articles
Look for information about a specific publication's article review and publishing criteria at the journal's website:
- Example: Anaesthesia
"Anaesthesia is the official journal of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland and is international in scope and comprehensive in coverage. It publishes original, peer-reviewed articles ..."
Finding Official MEDLINE Abbreviations
- The List of Serials Indexed for Online Users (LSIOU)
Print copy available in the Matas Library. Journal titles indexed for MEDLINE, listed alphabetically by the journal title abbreviation. - Search for Health Sciences Journal Titles (MEDLINE)

- The Journals database (MEDLINE)
The Journals database can be used to obtain a list of currently indexed MEDLINE titles. The List of Journals Indexed for MEDLINE ceased with the 2008 edition. - 2008 - List of Journal Abbreviations....pdf
The List of Journals Indexed for MEDLINE ceased with the 2008 edition.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait