Workshop Overview
1. Bibliography mining
2. Advanced database searching
3. Citation management tools
Are you Off-Campus?
Log in to the proxy server
You will need to log in as an off campus user in order to access the resources located in this guide.
If you are off campus you can log on to the proxy server at http://libproxy.tulane.edu:2048, or by clicking on the "Off-Campus Login" link in the top right corner of the Library web site.

Bibliography Mining
As you're reading a book or article, you may come across a cited work that you want to read. How do you get to the full-text when you have a citation from the bibliography?
Do we have access to the following items*? Hint: Go to the library's homepage and search the library catalog or SearchAll.
Bart, Benjamin F, and Robert F. Cook. The Legendary Sources of Flaubert's Saint Julien. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1977.
Biasi, Pierre-Marc de. "Toward A Science Of Literature: Manuscript Analysis And The Genesis Of The Work." Genetic Criticism: Texts and Avant-Textes. 36-68. Philadelphia, PA: U of Pennsylvania P, 2004.
Orr, Mary. "Hunting legendary monsters in Flaubert's La Légende de Saint Julien l'hospitalier." French Studies Bulletin 26.95 (2005): 15-19.
Biobibliographical information
Search the assigned database for an entry about Gustave Flaubert. Then, answer the following questions:
- What kind of information is included in the article?
- How might the information help you as you’re reading the assigned Flaubert story?
- How might it help you as you’re writing about his short stories?
- Literature Criticism OnlineSimultaneously search several reference works such as Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literarature Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literature Criticism, and Short Story Criticism.
- Dictionary of Literary BiographyCareer biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods.
- Twayne's Author Series and Scribner Writers Series (uncheck Literature Resource Center at bottom of search page)Signed essays covering over 1600 world authors.
Librarian |
What I do in the library:: Teach people to find and evaluate information; select books for Teacher Preparation & Certification Program and for the Gender & Sexuality Studies Program |




Loading...
