RefWorks 2.0
- RefWorks 2.0
(Tulane account / off campus a group code is required) -- If you're having trouble with direct export of citations into RefWorks, please make sure that your browser allows pop-ups.
--------------------------------------------- - RefWorks - YouTube
- RefWorks Information & Help What Is RefWorks?
- Demonstration - how to use RefWorks 2.0
Tutorials Online - Installing Write-N-Cite
Published on Jan 8, 2013 - How to install Write-N-Cite on your computer and log in to connect it to your RefWorks account - Ref@Works Write-N-Cite 4 _ The Basics

- ProQuest RefWorks You Tube Videos

- Write-N-Cite 3 TutorialInserting Citations and Creating Bibliographies with
Write-N-Cite III
RefWorks 2.0 - Quick Start Guide
RefWorks Online Training
Loading...
New version of Write-N-Cite - 2013
What is a citation management program?
If you find articles in a database of interest for your research, you may use programs such as RefWorks or EndNote to pull the citations into your personal account and create a collection of references, annotate them, then cite it in your document - the software will automatically put in correctly formatted citations and a bibliography. The Matas Library provides support for RefWorks 2.0 and EndNote Web. There are many other tools available.
PubMed Results and citation manager software
Health Sciences - Style & Citation Styles
- Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals: Vancouver Style Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts Submitted to Biomedical Journals - Vancouver Style - by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) http://www.icmje.org/
- Citing Medicine, 2nd editionThe NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers. 2nd Edition 2007
- AMA Manual of Style
JAMA network - NLM Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI DatabasesSearch for Journal Abbreviations (MEDLINE / PubMed)
- List of Journals (MEDLINE / PubMed) via ftp
Citing electronic information from the CDC & NCHS
Guidelines for Citation of Data Source
Suggested citation to appear at the bottom of all tables and graphs from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) National Health Interview survey:
Data Source: CDC/NCHS, National Health Interview Survey, 2009
In a bibliography, the suggested citation should read:
National Center for Health Statistics. Data File Documentation, National Health Interview Survey, 2009 (machine readable data file and documentation)National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Hyattsville, Maryland. 2010.
The published material should also include a disclaimer that credits any analyses, interpretations, or conclusions reached to the author (recipient of the data file) and not to NCHS, which is responsible only for the initial data.
NHIS questionnaires are in the public domain and no permission is required to use them. However, NCHS should be cited as the author of the questions.
From p 71 of 2009 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) Public Use Data Release NHIS Survey Description Division of Health Interview Statistics, National Center for Health Statistics, Hyattsville, Maryland. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services July 13, 2010.
- Citing Electronic Media from the CDCHow to cite various NCHS publications, including Health, United States, National Vital Statistics Report, electronic media, NCHS Health E-Stats, Early Release of Selected Estimates and Data Briefs.
- 2009 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) Public Use Data Release NHIS Survey Description (see page 71)Describes the 2009 NHIS data release, including data collection procedures, sample design, questions, and how to cite information derived from survey.
Style Manuals used in the Health Sciences
The ACS Style Guide. 3rd Edition Edited by Anne M. Coghill and Lorrin Garson. Oxford University Press, New York. 2006.
EndNote Web
- End Note Web Citation Database

- EndNote Web Matas Library Quick Tip GuideMatas Library Quick Tip Guide
The Tulane Proxy URL for FULL TEXT FROM Citation Management
Here are the proxy links for Tulane full-text access in Papers and EndNote. The software versions that are purchased for individual use are not generally supported by the Matas Library.
Copy and paste the URL to authenticate for full-text access
EndNote -URL: http://libproxy.tulane.edu:2048/login
Papers (for Macs) - URL: http://libproxy.tulane.edu:2048/login?url=%@
Tulane Style Guide

Standards for publications, websites, and other communication vehicles of Tulane University
- Tulane University - Style Guide
- Other Citation and Writing GuidesA research guide by the Howard-Tilton Librarians. Includes basic guides for the Humanities and the Social Sciences. Basic citation guides (APA, APSA, CBE/CSE, Chicago, MLA, Turabian)
Recommended Article
- Quinn CT, Rush AJ. Writing and publishing your research findings. J Investig Med 2009 Jun;57(5):634-639.
Abstract
Writing clearly is critical to the success of your scientific career. Unfortunately, this skill is not taught in medical school or postgraduate training. This article summarizes our approach to the writing and publication of your research. Here we focus on empirical or experimental reports of translational and clinically oriented research. We review the process of choosing what to write, how to write it clearly, and how to navigate the process of submission and publication.
Citing the Web
- How to cite twitter, How to cite tweets Posted by Gunther Eysenbach @ Gunther Eysenbach's random research rants, Blogspot.
- Going, Going, Still There... J Med Internet Res 2005Eysenbach G, Trudel M. Going, Going, Still There: Using the WebCite Service to Permanently Archive Cited Web Pages. J Med Internet Res 2005;7(5):e60
Ethics
- COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics)COPE is a forum for editors and publishers of peer-reviewed journals to discuss issues related to the integrity of work submitted to or published in their journals. It supports and encourages editors to report, catalogue and instigate investigations into ethical problems in the publication process…




Loading...
