Library Guides: History of Medicine and Public Health: A Guide: Databases

Scholarly Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary full-text general literature Multi-disciplinary database covering the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window Comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Tulane subscribes to current and backfiles of select Annual Reviews titles.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for many journals indexed in CINAHL.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window Covers: Full-text of many dissertations after 1997, citations and/or abstracts prior to 1997
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides full text of more than 2,200 digests, and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. Good for school health, patient health, pediatric topics. Coverage from 1966-present.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Allows evaluation and comparison of journals using citation data from over 7,000 scholarly and technical journals. Search impact factor by category, journal or ISSN. NOTE: Use your Web of Science or Endnote username and password or create a new username and password for this database
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Web of Science Core This link opens in a new window Includes citation searching (see how many times a paper has been cited).Includes Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Sciences Citation Index, Journal Citation Reports. 1976 - present.
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat This link opens in a new window Holdings from thousands of libraries worldwide.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Scopus is a comprehensive, expertly curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly literature across a wide variety of disciplines. The resource quickly finds relevant and authoritative research, identifies experts, and provides access to reliable data, metrics, and analytical tools.

French Resources

BIUM Paris Histoire Médecine Dentaire
New Orleans Bee / L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans
The New Orleans Public Library has digitized issues from this French-language New Orleans newspaper (1823-1925), which also published editions in English and Spanish published for certain years.

History of Health Sciences Journals

Bulletin of the history of medicine (Online)
Jan 1, 1933 (Vol. 1) - Winter 2000 (Vol. 74, no. 4) in ProQuest
Bulletin of the History of Medicine (Online)
Vol. 70 (1996) through current issue - Project MUSE -

Historic New Orleans Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Choose "Louisiana" in Places of Publication to see local titles. Search or browse images and full-text content of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. This combines Series I-VII of Early American Historica

New Orleans Bee / L’Abeille de la Nouvelle-Orléans
The New Orleans Public Library has digitized issues from this French-language New Orleans newspaper (1823-1925), which also published editions in English and Spanish published for certain years.

Civil War Era: Newspapers and Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Civil War Era contains the earliest editions of the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1840 to 1865.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
19th Century American Newspapers collection contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for the Daily Picayune (later Times-Picayune) from 1861-1899.

Other Historic Newspaper Databases - Tulane's Research Guide

National Library of Medicine

The History of Medicine Division of the National Library of Medicine
Collects, preserves, interprets, and presents materials documenting the history of medicine, biomedical science, health and disease.
Search PubMed for history of medicine articles.
HISTLINE citations can be found using "historical article" as a publication type, limiting to the History of Medicine subject subset, or searching MeSH terms describing time periods.
more...less...
NLM's HISTLINE incorporated citations into PubMed in October 2001.

NLM Catalog (Locator Plus) This link opens in a new window
Historic medical book citations can be found using "HMD Collection" as a quick limit, or searching MeSH terms describing time periods.

IndexCat (17th-20th century)
The online version of the Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, U.S. Army (61 volumes in 5 series, 1880-1961), is a comprehensive subject catalog of books, pamphlets, dissertations, etc.
more...less...
A comprehensive subject catalog of books, pamphlets, dissertations, reports, and journal articles published from the 17th-20th century and held by NLM. Researchers will find material in IndexCat that is not in the LocatorPlus or PubMed.
HMD manuscripts collection
A list of online finding aids prepared by the National Library of Medicine's Archives and Modern Manuscripts Program, History of Medicine Division.
Index Medicus Chronology - How do I find older medical journal articles?

Non-Western History

Encyclopaedia of the History of Science, Technology, and Medicine in Non-Western Cultures by H. Selin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781402045592
Publication Date: 2008-03-12
SpringerLink

Databases of Historical Newspapers

News & Newspapers Library Guide
Your guide to local, national, and international news sources, both recent and historical

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
NewsBank/Readex. Includes 25 New Orleans newspapers. Search or browse images and full-text content of more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. This combines Series I-VII of Early American Historical and Hispanic America Newspapers

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)
Search America's historic newspapers from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Ancestry.com

Ancestry Library Edition This link opens in a new window
Verify names and dates using Ancestry.com