Tulane Resources 1834-
Medical School bulletins, catalogs, and yearbooks are the sources of biographical information for medical physicians, dentists and public health professionals that graduated from Tulane University. These materials are available in print and the Matas Library and also in University Archives. The "annual bulletins" list graduates for that academic year. Additional materials in the Matas Historical Collections are graduation announcements, composites and other publications relating to the academic program. There is a card file of Matriculates based upon the Medical School bulletins with name and year. Generally the searches of the print resources are hand searched by the Matas Library Staff.
University Archives and the Matas Library have ongoing scanning projects. Here are some of the resources available online:
- Alphabetical List of all Graduates in Medicine and Pharmacy, 1834 to 1901.

- Yearbooks
Jambalaya yearbook (1896-2008), as well as issues of the T-Wave, the yearbook of the Tulane University School of Medicine which began publication in 1982. Available in digital format via the Internet Archive.
Registre
Names of people licensed in New Orleans
April 29, 1816 - August 14,1854
For additional information consult: Duffy, John. (1958) The Regulation of Medicine and Pharmacy in Louisiana, In The Rudolph Matas History of Medicine in Louisiana, Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, v.II., p. 103-121.
Duffy, John. (1958) The Regulation of Medicine and Pharmacy in Louisiana, In The Rudolph Matas History of Medicine in Louisiana, Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press, v.II., p. 103-121.
Charity Hospital Reports (1842-1974) - Now Digitized!

The Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences at Tulane University would like to announce the online availability of the historic Charity Hospital Reports. These items are of use not only to researchers in the fields of medicine and health, but also those researching the history and cultural impact of medical care in the New Orleans area.
A collection of Reports from the New Orleans Charity Hospital were produced regularly for the state government of Louisiana from 1842-1974. The reports have been digitized by the staff of Rudolph Matas Library under a National Library of Medicine (NLM) grant for a project titled Early Medical Journalism of Louisiana, A pilot project for the preservation and sharing of Nineteenth Century Medical Publications of Louisiana [National Library of Medicine (NLM) Prime Contract No. N01-LM-6-3505; HHSN276200663505C]. These reports include a wealth of material on hospital administration and disease epidemics as well as vital statistics and public health information. The Charity Hospital Reports collection consists of 114 PDF items, each with searchable text.
- The Charity Hospital Reports

- Charity Hospital Reports in The Internet Archive (IA)

- Charity Hospital Reports in the LOUISiana Digital Library
The reports will also be included in to the LOUISiana Digital Library Collection of Collections (LCOC). - Please help us learn more by completing this survey
Thank you for your feedback!
Featured Information on Charity Hospital of New Orleans.
- The History of Tulane University School of Medicine's involvement with Charity HospitalDouglas R. Lincoln. New Orleans, LA : Rudolph Matas Medical Library, 2007.
- see also: Big Chairty: A History of New Orleans' Public Hospital.Leighninger, Robert D., Jr. IN Louisiana Cultural Vistas (Fall 2007):p.19
- Tulane and Charity Hospital Exhibitsee also: Katz, Alan. Big Charity: A History of Emergencies. Tulane Medicine, 23(1): 14-21. Spring 1992 (First appeared in New Orleans Magazine, Nov. 1991)
- Foundation for Historical Louisiana. Charity Hospital
- FHL-RMJM Hillier CharityThe FHL-RMJM Hillier Charity feasibility study, mandated by 2006 Legislative Resolution #89 can be reviewed
- The R. Gordon Holcombe, Jr. scrapbook : the demolition of old Charity Hospital : photos, clippings, memorabilia 1936-1937. A scrapbook, along with a video recording is available. A .pdf version of the scrapbook is linked. The Matas Library has DVD copies of the video.
- Restored 16 mm. film on the Demolition of old Charity Hospital, 1937 and Internship 1937-38 made by Dr. R. G. Holcomb, Jr. (Originally filmed in 1937),
A digital resource available in The Internet Archive (Originally filmed in 1937)
History of Medicine Exhibits
- Profiles in ScienceNational Library of Medicine site makes archival collections of prominent twentieth-century leaders in biomedical research and public health available.
History of the Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine
- The New Orleans School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene.* By CREIGHTON WELLMAN, M. D., New Orleans, La.
The New Orleans Medical and Surgical Journal (1912), Volume 64, p. 893. Link to Google Books. - Buekens, Pierre. From Hygiene and Tropical Medicine to Global Health
Am. J. Epidemiol. (2012) 176(suppl 7): S1-S3 doi:10.1093/aje/kws253 - Wellman, Creighton. The New Orleans School of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene
Reprint: Am. J. Epidemiol. (2012) 176(suppl 7): S4-S26 doi:10.1093/aje/kws390




Loading...
