EncyclopediasDictionariesSubject Resources
Economic & Financial StatisticsU.S. Government StatisticsInt'l Government Statistics
This is the "
Home" page of the "General Reference Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

General Reference Sources  

General and interdisciplinary reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc.
Last Updated: May 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/reference Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

General E-Resources

  • Credo Reference
    More than 150 reference books on subjects such as geography, history, science and medicine. Also contains the "Who's Who" series online.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Contains searchable full-text versions of many major reference books on many topics including art, multicultural studies, medicine, ecology, literature, religion, and more.
  • Oxford Reference Online
    Contains over 185 subject dictionaries covering everything from art to accountancy, politics to physics, and computing to classics. Also includes English dictionaries, and bilingual dictionaries of French, German, Spanish, and Italian. Also includes quotation sources, who's who references, handbooks, and guides.
  • Oxford Scholarship Online
    Oxford e-books in biology, business, economics, law, math, music, philosophy and many more topic areas.
  • Sage Reference Online
    Collection of primarily social science subject encyclopedias. Topics covered include social work, sociology, criminology, anthropology, political science and international relations.
 

Reference Universe

Confused by the array of reference books out there? Try searching our collection of print and online reference books using Reference Universe.

Reference Universe covers almost any subject--philosophy, history, human rights, pop culture and so on. Just enter your topic in the box below for a list of reference books covering that topic. From the list you can click on the title for information from the library catalog about the book (including any links to the online version), or see where the topic is listed in the book's index.

Enter your search terms:
 

What does "Reference" mean?

 

 

 

 

Reference resources should be used to locate authoritative facts, background materials and basic information at the start of your research.

Reference tools available include:

  • biographies
  • book reviews
  • dictionaries
  • encyclopedias
  • facts and figures
  • full-text articles
  • issue reports
  • maps & atlases
 

Ask Us!


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip