Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Research Guides Home Page Turchin Business Library Home Page Matas Health Sciences Library Home Page Howard-Tilton Memorial Library Home Page Tulane University Home Page

Admin Sign In 

Political Science Research Guide 

Research Tools for Political Science
Last update: Jul 28th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/politicalscience  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles             Print Page
  
 

Library Catalog



 

Find E-Journal

Journal:
 

Databases

Use Databases & Indexes (the terms are often used interchangeably) to identify research articles, technical reports, book chapters, and other materials on your topic. You may need to search more than one database to locate the most appropriate materials for your information need.

  • Academic (Lexis-Nexis)  
      
    Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multi-disciplinary database covering the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.
  • AccessUN  
      
    Index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents.
  • AP Photo Archive  
      
    The Photo Archive features state, regional and national photos from North America, as well as international photos all available moments after they move on the AP's spot picture system. An average of 800 photos a day feed into the Photo Archive.
  • Arab-Israeli Relations 1917-1970  
      
    from the National Archives, London, this collection contains original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
  • Black Studies Center  
      
    Black Studies Center brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
  • Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe Digital Archive  
      
    The record of political life in Occupied Western Europe available to the British Government during World War II from the original intelligence reports received by the British Foreign Office following the breakdown of normal diplomatic relations during war
  • Congressional (Lexis-Nexis)  
      
    Provides daily updated information, including full text of bills starting in 1989, public laws starting in 1988, committee reports starting in 1990, House and Senate documents starting in 1995, Congressional Record starting in 1985, and more
  • CountryWatch  
      
    Provides specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world. Includes country profiles, statistical information, thematic and physical maps, as well as a current newswire.
  • Declassified Documents Reference System Digital Archive  
      
    This collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others.
  • Digital National Security Archive  
      
    Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Declassified government documents obtained through use of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
  • Documents on British Policy Overseas  
      
    Users can access contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond. Content covering the rest of the century will be added before the end of 2008.
  • Economist, The  
      
    The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2003.
  • Encyclopaedia of Islam  
      
    The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online Edition combines the entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the printed edition.
  • Encyclopaedia of Judaism  
      
    The Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Second Edition. Included in the Online Edition
    The Encyclopaedia of Judaism, Second Edition, Volumes 1-4, published in 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures  
      
    Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (Volumes 1 to 5)
  • Gender Watch  
      
    A full text database of publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. A repository of an important historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles.
  • Handbook of Latin American Studies  
      
    A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.
  • HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)  
      
    Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
  • HeinOnline  
      
    Includes: Law Journal Library (500+ journals, with more than 900 periodicals under contract for inclusion), Federal Register Library (1936-1992), and more
  • Hispanic American Newspapers  
      
    You can search only the Hispanic American Newspapers collection by clicking on the "select a specific collection to search" link, in the center of the page, near the top.
  • Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)  
      
    every issue of the time periods for each paper complete cover-to-cover with full page images and article images that are in downloadable PDF.
  • Historical Statistics of the United States  
      
    Contains cumulative historical statistics for the United States from 1789-2000. This resource is a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources and includes over 37,000 data series.
  • House of Commons Parliamentary Papers  
      
    House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (HCPP) now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688.
  • Index Islamicus  
      
    A bibliography of books, articles and reviews
    on Islam and the Muslim world. Compiled and edited by Heather Bleaney and produced in the Library
    School of Oriental and African Studies, London.
  • Index to Current Urban Documents  
      
    Guide to the reports and research that are generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies in 500 selected cities in the US and Canada
  • Info-LatinoAmerica  
      
    International newspapers, journals, news magazines, newsletters, television & radio broadcasts, conference proceedings, and more on Latin America
  • International Political Science Abstracts  
      
    Current indexing and abstracts of nearly 900 of the world's leading journals in political science.
  • Iraq 1914-1974  
      
    Based on British Government and other files in the UK national archives, this collection offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers
  • Latin American Newsstand  
      
    This database provides full-text information in Spanish and Portuguese from 41 newspapers from Puerto Rico and 11 Latin American countries, including Mexico, Argentina, and Brazil.
  • Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC)  
      
    The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) is a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 800 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America.
  • Left Index  
      
    Guide to the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
  • Legal Periodicals & Books  
      
    Indexing that cites articles from the most important legal periodicals and law books. Coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more
  • Legal Periodicals Retrospective  
      
    This retrospective database indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
  • Lexis-Nexis (Academic Universe)  
      
    Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
  • Making of the Modern World  
      
    Combines Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Library of Business and Economics at the Harvard University Graduate School of Business Administration.
  • MarciveWeb DOCS Express Search  
      
    Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.
  • Military & Government Collection  
      
    Current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this is a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content, including pamphlets. Complete indexing of over 400 journals.
  • Monthly Catalogue of US Government Publication  
      
    Comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government from 1895-1976. The Monthly Catalog helps you identify important and useful information on all subjects.
  • Northern Ireland: A Divided Community  
      
    Contains a full record of every debate and transaction for the entire duration of the Stormont administration, the devolved government of Northern Ireland. Separate files exist for each Cabinet Meeting and include minutes and memoranda.
  • PAIS International and Archive  
      
    Global coverage of public affairs and world issues, with an emphasis on issues in the public debate.
  • Pollution Abstracts  
      
    Combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource.
  • Post-War Europe Digital Archive  
      
    This archive documents the struggle of the millions of homeless people who had been displaced as a result of military action, deportation into labour or concentration camps, local racism and discrimination or the relocation of national borders.
  • Race Relations Abstracts  
      
    Race Relations Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Serial Set Congressional  
      
    To access the Serials Set, go to Advanced Search.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts and Full Text  
      
  • Social Sciences Citation Index  
      
    Covers all disciplines in the social sciences. Contains the references cited by the authors of the articles covered by the index. Use these references to do cited reference searching.
  • STAT-USA  
      
    information available from the National Trade Data Bank, the National Economic, Social & Environmental Data Base, the Economic Bulletin Board, Global Business Procurement Opportunities, and the Bureau of Economic Analysis.
  • Statistical (Lexis-Nexis)  
      
    Abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 U.S. government publications , state and private sources, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations.
  • Television News Archive (Vanderbilt University)  
      
    Includes nightly news programs broadcast by the national television networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC) since August 5, 1968, and a daily news program from CNN since 1995.
  • Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive  
      
    This digital resource offers the resources of the World’s oldest Holocaust museum, the Wiener Library, London. Alfred Wiener fled Germany in 1933 and established his collection in London.
  • Times Digital Archive  
      
    Complete digital edition of The Times retrieves full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire paper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching
  • Times-Picayune (also Daily Picayune)  
      
  • U.S. Congressional Hearings (Lexis-Nexis)  
      
    Full-text of U.S. Congressional Hearings. To access, go to the advanced search screen.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts  
      
    Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • Women, War & Society  
      
    A collection from the Imperial War Museum, London, which includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, and press cuttings, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars.
  • New York Times (1851-2003)  
      
    Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the New York Times from 1851-2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
 

Social Science and Government Documents Librarian

Profile ImageEric Wedig
Contact Info:
Howard-Tilton Memorial Library
Collection Development
Phone 504-865-5644
Send Email

Subjects:
Economics, History, Jewish Studies, Political Science, Sociology

 

Ask Us!

If we are not online, leave us a message.






 
Description

  Loading content... please wait