This is the "Home" page of the "Architecture Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Architecture Research Guide   Tags: architecture, building, landscape_architecture, urban_planning  

Research Tools for Architecture
Last Updated: Apr 15, 2013 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/architecture Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Go to:

 

Library Catalog


Find Books



 

Find E-Journal

Journal:
 

Campus Tour

A brief guide to Tulane University's National Register campus.  It includes illustrations from the holdings of the Southeastern Architectural Archive, as well as a campus map.  Compiled by Keli Rylance in conjunction with the 2010 Annual Meeting of the Association of Architecture School Librarians. Revised August 2012.

 

Perspectival Drawing

A guide to perspectival drawing written by long-term Tulane School of Architecture faculty member Milton G. Scheuermann, Jr.  Titled "Perspective Drawing: A Practical Approach for Architects" (New Orleans: Tulane School of Architecture, c. 1965), the guide is a concise and thorough summary of the drafting process.  Includes instructions for one- and two-point perspectival drawing, diagrams, and short cuts. 

 

PDF Document below in three parts.

 

Frameworks for Architecture Resources

Welcome to the Architecture Research Guide!

This site is intended to help researchers find the resources they need by providing links to article and image databases, library resources, Internet portals and other reference tools.  It augments the Architecture Research Blog begun by Dr. Keli Rylance at the Tulane Libraries. While this page provides quick links to resources, the blog includes narrative examples of the ways in which these resources may be used to solve research problems.  Additionally, it includes citation models for images and text, as well as listings of current events and thematic issues.

If you are researching historic preservation and related topics, you may wish to consult the Historic Preservation Research Guide.

If you need instant help, chat with a librarian using the Chat box on the right--->
---or call the Howard-Tilton Library reference desk @ (504) 865-5606

 

The Research Process

These are some helpful guides to conducting research related to history, architectural history, construction and visual design: 

Borden, Iain.  The Dissertation: An Architecture Student's Handbook.  Amsterdam & Boston: Architectural Press, 2006.  ARCH Reference NA2108.B67 2006

Cronon, William.  "Learning to Do Historical Research: A Primer." Department of Geography, University of Wisconsin-Madison (Fall 2008). Online at: http://www.williamcronon.net/researching/website.htm

Fellows, Richard. Research Methods for Construction.  Oxford: Blackwell Science, 1997. Available for Tulane affiliates as an e-book through EBSCO.  Consult Tulane University's online catalog for link.

Groat, Linda N. Architectural Research Methods.  New York:  Wiley, 2002.  ARCH NA2000.G76 2002

Sanoff, Henry.  Visual Research Methods in Design.  New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991.  ARCH NA2750.S25 1991

Citing Sources

Citing sources properly is an essential component of sound research practice.  The following resources can facilitate the process:

 

NEW SEAA EXHIBITION

1967 Model for Domed Stadium

The Dome

17 January - 1 November 2013

This exhibit traces the history of the Louisiana Superdome, from public referendum to site selection to construction. 

Co-curated by Keli Rylance and Kevin Williams

Image above: Frank Lotz Miller, photographer. Curtis & Davis, architects. Model for proposed domed stadium. 1967.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Keli Rylance
Contact Info
300 Jones Hall
6801 Freret Street
Send Email
Subjects:
Architecture
 

Ask Us!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip