This is the "Find Articles" page of the "German 480/680 Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

German 480/680 Research Guide  

Last Updated: Nov 8, 2012 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/brancaforte Print Guide Email Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Steps in finding an article

1. Select a database that has information about the topic you're searching for.

2. Search the database using keywords that represent the information you want to find.

3. Browse through the list of results and find an article that is relevant to your need.

4. Locate the full-text of the article.  Sometimes the full-text is in the database.  If not, use TU Link to search the library's full-text holdings.  If the library has the article, TU Link will give you a link to the full-text.

Getting the full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the TU Link button. This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article. If there is no online access, there's a link to the library catalog to see if we have the full-text in print.

  • TU Link instructional video
    Short video with audio explaining how to use TU Link.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.

Article Databases


  • Article & Database Finder
    Search up to 10 databases at a time! Be sure to choose an appropriate quickset such as 'Literature & Humanities' or 'History & Political Science'. Users who login may create their own sets!
  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages.
  • Project MUSE
    A full-text database containing more than 300 online journals mostly for the humanities from Johns Hopkins University Press, Duke University Press, Indiana University Press, and several other important scholarly publishers.
  • JSTOR  
      
    Archive of over 600 journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is usually from a journal's first issue up until 3-5 years ago.
  • MLA Bibliography
    THE database for researching literature. Describes articles and book chapters. Not much full-text, so use TU Link to locate the full-text.
  • History Reference Center
    Includes full text of reference books, encyclopedias, historical documents, biographies, photographs, and video. Database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps.
  • H.W. Wilson Abstracts
    Full text is offered for a portion of the articles indexed in Art Abstracts, Applied Sciences and Technology Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts, Reader's Guide, and Social Sciences Abstracts.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Biographical information about authors. Critical articles about their work. Full-text.
  • Academic Search Complete  
      
    Multidisciplinary database with journal, magazine, and newspaper articles from over 10,000 publications. Lots of full-text.
  • Grove Dictionary of Art Online
    Compendium of articles, definitions of art-related terms; biographies of artists, patrons, collectors, and others known in the various fields of art, images of works of art, and links and bibliographies to further information.
  • International Political Science Abstracts
    Published by the International Political Science Association with the support of the International Social Science Council, UNESCO, the Fondation Nationale des Sciences Politiques, it includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science.
 

End of Class Survey

Take this brief survey online--we want to know how we're doing!

 

Quick survey

 

Thanks!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip