This is the "Citation and Writing Guides" page of the "Citation Management in the Health Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Matas Subject Guides Home Rudolph Matas Library of the Health Sciences Library Tulane University Homepage

Citation Management in the Health Sciences  

A resource guide to provide advice and assistance with EndNote Web and RefWorks 2.0!
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/citemanagment Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Citation and Writing Guides Print Page
  Search: 
 

RefWorks 2.0

RefWorks 2.0 - a Link for Tulane Users 

 

RefWorks Online Training

Loading Loading...
blank padding

New version of Write-N-Cite - 2013

New Versions of Write-N-Cite Now Available!
Jan 04, 2013

Check out the newest version of Write-N-Cite for Windows and Mac available now. This version includes the following:

New Features:

  1. Significant improvement to synching of references with RefWorks accounts.
  2. Removal of 2000 citation limit
  3. Improved User Interface for insert/edit citation.
  4. Relocation of the Reapply Output Style from the Preferences area to the main toolbar.
  5. Auto-updating messaging improved and updated.
You can get the latest version from the Write-N-Cite download page in your RefWorks account.  TOOLS > Write-N-Cite.
      

    What is a citation management program?

    If you find articles in a database of interest for your research, you may use programs such as RefWorks or EndNote to pull the citations into your personal account and create a collection of references, annotate them, then cite it in your document - the software will automatically put in correctly formatted citations and a bibliography.  The Matas Library provides support for RefWorks 2.0 and EndNote Web.  There are many other tools available.

    PubMed Results and citation manager software

    Health Sciences - Style & Citation Styles

    Citing electronic information from the CDC & NCHS

    Guidelines for Citation of Data Source

    Suggested citation to appear at the bottom of all tables and graphs from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) National Health Interview survey:

    Data Source: CDC/NCHS, National Health Interview Survey, 2009

    In a bibliography, the suggested citation should read:

    National Center for Health Statistics. Data File Documentation, National Health Interview Survey, 2009 (machine readable data file and documentation)National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Hyattsville, Maryland. 2010.

    The published material should also include a disclaimer that credits any analyses, interpretations, or conclusions reached to the author (recipient of the data file) and not to NCHS, which is responsible only for the initial data. 

    NHIS questionnaires are in the public domain and no permission is required to use them. However, NCHS should be cited as the author of the questions.

    From p 71 of 2009 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) Public Use Data Release NHIS Survey Description Division of Health Interview Statistics, National Center for Health Statistics, Hyattsville, Maryland. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services July 13, 2010. 

     

    Style Manuals used in the Health Sciences


    Cover Art
    The Clinician's Guide to Medical Writing - Robert B. Taylor  Icon
    ISBN: 9780387222493
    Publication Date: 2004-10-01
    SpringerLink

    Cover Art
    Science and Technical Writing - Philip Rubens  Icon
    ISBN: 9780415925518
    Publication Date: 2000-12-13
    Books@EBSCOhost

    Cover Art
    The ACS Style Guide - Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)  Icon
    Call Number: QD 8.5 Ac25.3 2006
    ISBN: 9780841239999
    Publication Date: 2006-07-20
    Second Edition chapters free online: Edited by Janet S. Dodd

    The ACS Style Guide. 3rd Edition Edited by Anne M. Coghill and Lorrin Garson. Oxford University Press, New York. 2006.

    Cover Art
    Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
    Call Number: PN 147 Am518p.6 2010R
    ISBN: 1433805596
    Publication Date: 2009-07-15
    Matas Ready Reference

    The Tulane Proxy URL for FULL TEXT FROM Citation Management

    Here are the proxy links for Tulane full-text access in Papers and EndNote.  The software versions that are purchased for individual use are not generally supported by the Matas Library. 

    Copy and paste the URL to authenticate for full-text access

    EndNote -URL: http://libproxy.tulane.edu:2048/login

    Papers (for Macs) - URL: http://libproxy.tulane.edu:2048/login?url=%@

        

      Tulane Style Guide

      Tulane University Logo

      Standards for publications, websites, and other communication vehicles of Tulane University

      Recommended Article

      • Quinn CT, Rush AJ. Writing and publishing your research findings. J Investig Med 2009 Jun;57(5):634-639.  
          
          Icon
        Abstract
        Writing clearly is critical to the success of your scientific career. Unfortunately, this skill is not taught in medical school or postgraduate training. This article summarizes our approach to the writing and publication of your research. Here we focus on empirical or experimental reports of translational and clinically oriented research. We review the process of choosing what to write, how to write it clearly, and how to navigate the process of submission and publication.

      Citing the Web

      Ethics

      • COPE (Committee on Publication Ethics)
        COPE is a forum for editors and publishers of peer-reviewed journals to discuss issues related to the integrity of work submitted to or published in their journals. It supports and encourages editors to report, catalogue and instigate investigations into ethical problems in the publication process…
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip