Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Citation: How to Cite Your Sources

A guide to writing academic papers by using citation styles effectively and efficiently.

Government Documents

Basic Citation Form in Chicago/Turabian Style

Government publications are written by federal bureaucrats and printed, not published, by the Government Printing Office. Very often these publications will not follow a standard title page arrangement and some publishing elements will be eliminated. However, use the following citation example to find as many elements as possible and arrange them as shown.

Author (Agency). Title, edition, statement. Place of publication: Publisher, Date. (Series elements). (Notes). [ If including Superintendent of Documents number, enter in Notes ]

For detailed examples, see the following guides:

Citing Primary Sources

Citing sources properly is an essential component of sound research practice.  The following resources can facilitate the process:

Citing archival sources properly is important, because the materials found in an archive or special collections repository are often unique and so cannot be referred to elsewhere. Persons trying to locate your sources at a later date will need to know exactly where and how to retrieve them. The particular form of your citation will depend upon the citation style you adhere to (e.g. The Chicago Manual of Style, Modern Language Association, etc.). The basic elements that should appear in your citation are:

  • The document itself: Include the creator, page, section, and date information where necessary.

Ex: Knights d'Orleans records.

  • Collection Name and Number: Include the title and the collection or catalog number.

Ex: Manuscripts Collection 986.

  • Repository: Where is the item held?

Ex: Louisiana Research Collection, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118.

 

Knights d'Orleans records, Manuscripts Collection 986, Louisiana Research Collection, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA 70118

When you are at the archives, it is a good idea to note down information from the finding aid or guide to the collection and from labels on the folder and box - even if not all the information is required in the citation itself. Take note of the box and folder number for the item but do not use the information in your citation as collections are often reboxed, refoldered, and renumbered. Citing archival sources can be tricky. Never hesitate to ask the archivist, curator, librarian, or your professor for assistance. They are there to help you!

(adapted from George Washington University Gelman Library Libguides)

Notes on Citing Legal Documents