Library Guides: Scholarly Impact Research Guide (Turchin): Article Impact

Finding Article Impact

There are two different ways to see how many times an article has been cited in Web of Science:

Conduct a Basic Search using the article title. This will not account for variation of the article titles or incorrect citation information
Conduct a Cited Reference Search. This is a bit more time consuming but it is more complete.

Basic Search

1- Conduct a search by article Title OR a combination of Title Keywords and Journal Titles

2- On the Right-hand side of the screen you will see the number of Times Cited

3- Click on the number to see all articles in Web of Science

There are two different ways to see how many times an article has been cited in Web of Science:

Conduct a Basic Search using the article title. This will not account for variation of the article titles or incorrect citation information
Conduct a Cited Reference Search. This is a bit more time consuming but it is more complete.

Cited Reference Search

1- From the drop-down menu select "Cited Reference Search"

2- Enter in the Title of the article and select "title" from the drop-down field. Alternatively, use a combination of Author information and Journal information.

3- Verify and include any variants and variations to the Journal Citation and include them in the search

4- Click "Finish Search"

5- All of the articles citing the original work will be retrieved.

It is very likely that google Scholar will retrieve a larger citation count compared to Web of Science since it also indexes Books, conference proceedings, patents, presentations, etc.

That said, Google Scholar's numbers might be incredibly inflated as there are many duplications and errors.

Using Google Scholar

1- Do a search for the article. Use quotations " " to conduct a phrase search

2- Under the retrieved article, you will find a Cited by number

3- Click on "Cited by"

iCite is a tool to access a dashboard of bibliometrics for papers associated with a portfolio. Users upload the PubMed IDs of articles of interest (from SPIRES or PubMed), optionally grouping them for comparison. iCite then displays the number of articles, articles per year, citations per year, and Relative Citation Ratio (a field-normalized metric that shows the citation impact of one or more articles relative to the average NIH-funded paper). A range of years can be selected, as well as article type (all, or only research articles), and individual articles can be toggled on and off. Users can download a report table with the article-level detail for later use or further visualization. Read about how the Relative Citation Ratio (RCR) is calculated at PLOS Biology. (Source: iCite, 2016)

Many other databases allow you to view how many times a specific article has been cited within the confines of that database.In each database, conduct a search for an article and look for "Cited by", "Citings", or "Related Articles"

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.

Article Level Metrics in PLoS (Public Library of Science)
PLoS journals provide online usage data for published articles.

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
EBSCO Research Databases This link opens in a new window
A search interface to multiple databases on the EBSCO platform. (Academic Search Premier, MLA, PsycInfo, and more).
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is an online delivery system providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. Tulane University subscribes to the IEEE All Society Periodicals Package; the Now Foundations & Trends eBooks Library; and Proceedings of the IEEE and Bell Labs Technical Journal.
For a current list of IEEE Explore material that is part of the Tulane University subscription package, check out: https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/accessinfo.

Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish (PoP) is free downloadable software that retrieves citations using Google Scholar, and then analyzes them using a series of citation metrics.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and eBooks. Click on TU LINK within a record to explore full text options.
CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
NOTE: access to CAS SciFinder-n requires creating a username and password from on campus or logged in thru Tulane's proxy server. Instructions for creating a username and password can be found at https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1E2FBB45-86F3-F014-11B1-3086F1FE24E1
CAS SciFinder-n is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.