Library Guides: Latin American Studies: All Disciplines: Find Books

About

Below are the major resources at your disposal to discover and access print and e-books.

See this page for instructions on how to request and pick-up books at Howard-Tilton Memorial Library, including books with an "Offsite" or "In Process" location.

Pro tip: Tulane's Scan & Deliver service allows you to request a PDF scan of 1 chapter of any book via Interlibrary Loan.

Find & Order Books at Tulane

TU Library Catalog Search
Includes all print books in TU Libraries as well as e-books that form part of our collections. Use the RESOURCE TYPE filters to limit your search to books and e-books.
Google Books
Use Google Books to do a full-text search of books in their database. If you find something you want, copy the title into Library Search and see if it's available. If not, order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLIAD)
Interlibrary Loan
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) Web This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records found in the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the 1970s to the present. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources. The homepage for HLAS Web includes a link to HLAS Online, a database that includes records from 1935 to the present. If you find a book of interest, enter the title in Library Search to see if Tulane has it. If not, email LAL@tulane.edu to suggest a purchase and/or request the book through Interlibrary Loan

Open Access E-Books

Many open access e-books published in Latin America are not discoverable via Tulane Libraries' databases. Below are some key resources to find Latin American publications freely available online.

Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
Open Access Books on JSTOR
Includes collections from the Colegio de México and CLACSO (Latin American Council of Social Sciences).
ULibros (Libros académicos y universitarios de Iberoamérica)
New platform coordinated by the Asociación de Editoriales Universitarias de América Latina y el Caribe (EULAC) to enhance discoverability of Latin American publications. Includes more than 1,000 open access ebooks.
Libros UNAM Open Access
Platform that brings together e-books published by the different presses of the National Autonomous University of Mexico.
CLACSO - Librería Latinoamericana y Caribeña de las Ciencias Sociales
E-books published by CLACSO (Latin American Council of Social Sciences).
Open Research Library
Books published around the world freely available through the Knowledge Unlatched initiative.