Library Guides: Latin and Spanish New Orleans: Find Scholarly Articles

About

Below find general and specialized databases to search for and find scholarly articles on connections between New Orleans and Spain, Latin America, and the Caribbean.

Pro tip: Can't find full-text access to the article you're looking for? Try these two steps:

Search the article title in Library Search to see if TU Libraries provides full text access. If we do not, then:
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan. You'll receive a PDF scan within a few days.

Best Bets

Library Search: Articles
Select the RESOURCE TYPE "Articles" to limit your search.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches academic publishers, professional societies and preprint archives. NOTE: off-campus users need to sign-in and authenticate with your Tulane user name and password to activate TU Links and check for holdings accessible via Tulane.
JSTOR Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
A trusted archive of scholarly journals, primary sources, and books. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. The most recent 3-5 years of journals are generally not available; this is known as a "moving wall."
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Index of information about Latinos/Hispanics in the US. Provides extensive coverage of Mexican Americans from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present day.