The TU Link button will appear by items indexed but not available full-text in the database you are searching. Simply click the green TU Link button next to the book or article you're interested in and you'll be redirected to a different database that does have full-text access.
Not everything is available digitally or it may be trapped behind a pay wall in a database the library does not subscribe to. If that's the case, you can still request the article or book through InterLibrary Loan. Requested books will be made available to you at the first floor Check Out Desk and articles and book chapters are usually provided as downloadable PDFs.
When we're lucky, discovering research articles and books goes smooth and easy, but brick walls and closed doors often crop up along the way. Rather than abandoning your research topic as impractical, It's your job to find a way through or around those walls. The two most common culprits that slow us down:
This page presents a number of databases that specialize in musical topics. While there may be some overlap, there's even more unique content in each. If your results are not as robust as you expect, then try a different database. Then again, even if you do have solid results, still go ahead and search a few more databases since you just might find a really important information source in one database but not the others.
If you've tried several databases and are still not getting the results you need, consider your search terms. Here's a 4 minute and 10 second video demonstrating a quick strategy for developing and refining your collection of search terms:
Whether you're looking for the latest research in musicology, music technology, music therapy, jazz, Asian music, or anything in between, you should be able to find a journal for your field.
Use your browser or download the free app from your app store and connect to Tulane University.
