Skip to main content Freeman School of Business Freeman School of Business Library Tulane University Homepage

Proper Use of Turchin Library's Licensed Databases

Proper Use of Licensed Databases for Course-Affiliated Client Projects, Directed Studies, Field Studies, Case Competitions, Internships and Employers

Using Licensed Turchin Library Databases for Courses, Career, and Personal Enrichment

Turchin Library's licensed electronic resources (e.g. databases, e-journals, e-books, etc.) are for academic use only by current Tulane University faculty, students, and staff. This means that you can use them for your coursework, career exploration, and personal enrichment.

You are strictly forbidden from using databases for employers or internships, or providing direct access to anyone at these or other organizations. Breaching this policy may result in vendors’ canceling access, and students/individuals possibly facing disciplinary action for non-compliance with Tulane's Code of Academic Conduct for undergraduates, and the Unified Code of Graduate Student Academic Conduct for graduate students.

What can you use Turchin Library's licensed databases for? 

  • Experiential course-related client projects
  • Course assignments
  • Faculty-supervised directed studies
  • Case competitions
  • Exploring potential careers and interview preparation
  • Personal edification

Conditions for Proper Use of Databases 

You are allowed to excerpt or summarize small portions of reports, articles, data, and other documents for inclusion in presentation decks, papers, and all other project and course deliverables.

You can never distribute to any project-related clients or anyone outside of Tulane any reports, articles, spreadsheets, data, etc. from Turchin’s licensed resources.

You must always accurately cite all content used.  Guidelines for correctly citing sources in your presentations or bibliographies, can be found at the Turchin Library guide to citing sources.

Databases Are Not Licensed for Internship or Employers

You are strictly forbidden from using databases for employers or internships or providing direct access to anyone at these or other organizations.

Our business librarians will gladly recommend alternatives to Turchin's databases, as well as provide search strategies/guidance for your organization’s subscription resources.

Tulane Honor Code Policies

According to Tulane's Copyright Notice, students, faculty, and employees are required and expected to adhere to U.S. copyright law, which restricts reproduction, distribution, and other uses of copyrighted materials.  

You must abide by Turchin Library's Licensed Electronic Resources Conditions of Use Policy as noted above.

  • According to Tulane's Code of Academic Conduct and Unified Code of Academic Conduct, you must always attribute accurately and completely all data and excerpts or direct references you include in course research, articles, etc.
  • According to the Turchin Library's Licensed Electronic Resources Conditions of Use Policy, you can never provide anyone who is not currently enrolled student access to any electronic resource (i.e. log them in); you can never allow anyone who is not currently enrolled at Tulane University access to any electronic resources that are subscribed for use to Tulane communities.
  • According to Turchin Library's Licensed Electronic Resources Conditions of Use Policy, you can never share your university username/I.D. and password with anyone attending Tulane or outside of Tulane University.

Questions, Comments, Concerns?

We look forward to your visit to Turchin Business Library!