Library Guides: Accounting Research: Home

Business Databases

All Tulane library resources are licensed for academic purposes only. Using these resources for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited. Off-campus access is available only to current Tulane students, faculty, and staff. Tulane Library users are responsible for compliance with this policy. The complete policy on resource use is available here: Proper Use of Turchin Library's Licensed Databases.

Accounting Standards and Professional Organizations

FASB Accounting Standards Codification This link opens in a new window
Student and faculty portal for accessing the FASB Accounting Standards for nongovernmental entities. Freeman Business School affiliates may contact turchin@tulane.edu to request the username and password for access.
GASB Governmental Accounting Research System (GARS) This link opens in a new window
The Governmental Accounting Standards Board establishes the generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) for government entities at the local and state level. Freeman Business School affiliates may contact turchin@tulane.edu to request the username and password for access.

FASAB Standards & Guidance
The Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board establishes generally accepted accounting principles for federal government entities. Their Handbook of Accounting Standards and Other Pronouncements is available for download.
IFAC Handbook of International Quality Control, Auditing, Review, Other Assurance, and Related Services Pronouncements
The International Federation of Accountants publishes their handbook annually. The latest edition is linked here.

Article Databases for Accounting Research

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Users have instant access to full-text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full-text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management, plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science, and technology titles.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. NOTE: Before searching, please change the default previous 2 years to all available dates.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database of core scholarly publications in disciplines including marketing, management, accounting, finance, information systems, international business, and more. Also includes industry profiles, market research reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.

Turchin Business Library

Accounting Research

SEC Filings

US Tax Code

Turchin Library

Business Databases

Accounting Standards and Professional Organizations

Article Databases for Accounting Research