Library Guides: Disaster Resilience Leadership Academy: A Guide: Home

Looking for Journal Articles?

Social Services Abstracts and Social Work Abstracts index the scholarship in social work, disaster resilience and human services journals. They each excel in different areas of coverage and indexing, so it is recommend you search in both.

If you aren't finding enough research on your topic, expand your search to other databases in related fields including applied social sciences, family studies, public policy, and sociology, or ask a librarian for additional suggestions specific to your research topic.

Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Researchers seeking scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more will find Social Work Abstracts to be an indispensable resource.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes serial publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering sociology and related disciplines. It features hundreds of full-text journals and millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus.
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) This link opens in a new window
Covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional.
Family Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Areas of public concern and potential legislation, including health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics and more. Includes articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. 1914 - present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Cited references are included for many journal articles.

More Databases

Visit the Find Articles tab for additional database suggestions.

Find Articles

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the text of the Congressional Record. Researchers can explore Congress in action with the most comprehensive online resource available for congressional publications and legislative research.
The resource includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, and legislative histories. It also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. NOTE: from off campus this resource is not compatible with the Firefox web browser.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
A data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US.

National Conference of State Legislatures (Links to State Legislatures)
This database contains information gleaned from the home pages and websites of the fifty state legislatures, the District of Columbia and the Territories. You can select to view specific website content materials (such as, bills, press rooms, statutes) from all states, one state or a selected list of states.