Access to contemporary and historical information and documents created by the three branches of the United States federal government: Legislative, Executive, and Judicial.
Many historical resources are accessible through the standard U.S. government document search tools, including the databases Congressional and HeinOnline.
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills, debates, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record. 1789-present
The resource includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, and legislative histories. It also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates Includes the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and records and acts of Congress through the 43rd Congress. 1774-1873
From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, American Memory provides free online access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
A massive digital collection of presidential papers, messages, speeches, videos, statistics, and other resources, from George Washington to the present.
Comprising a total of thirty-eight physical volumes arranged in ten topical classes or series, the American State Papers contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress during the period 1789 to 1838. 1789-1838
The ten topical classes are:
I. Foreign Relations
II. Indian Affairs
III. Finances
IV. Commerce and Navigation
V. Military Affairs
VI. Naval Affairs
VII. Post Office Department
VIII. Public Lands
IX. Claims
X. Miscellaneous
Digitized collections of diplomatic and legal documents, organized by theme or by time period. A project of the Yale Law School Lillian Goldman Law Library.
Searchable broadside collections contain 277 Congressional documents including extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. 1774-1789
