Library Guides: United States Government Documents: A Guide: Judicial Branch

Case Law

Howard-Tilton subscribes to databases that allow you to search for federal and state court cases by keyword, official citation, or title (e.g Marbury v Madison).

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
U.S. Supreme Court (1790-present)
U.S. Circuit Courts of Appeals
U.S. District Courts (1789-present)
State court decisions at all court levels for all 50 states and territories Also Bankruptcy Courts; U.S. Court of International Trade; Tax Courts; Courts of Customs and Patent Appeals, and Veterans, Commerce, and Military Courts.
Westlaw Next This link opens in a new window
Federal courts (1790-present)
State courts (1658-present; varies by state)

U.S. Supreme Court

Supreme Court of the United States
Provides the latest term "slip" opinions of the Court. Slip opinions are replaced within a few months by preliminary print opinions, and replaced (again) one year later by the final version in a U. S. Reports bound volume.
Current term only
Supreme Court Collection (Cornell University)
Provides opinions of the United States Supreme Court handed down since 1990, together with over 600 earlier decisions selected for their historic importance. Provided by Cornell University's Legal Information Institute.
1990-present
FindLaw
Searchable database of Supreme Court decisions since 1893. Browsable by year or U.S. Reports volume number, and searchable by citation, case title and full text.
1893-present
LexisNexis: U.S. Supreme Court Cases (Lawyer's Edition)
Includes case law reported in official and parallel citations: From 1 U.S. (1790 - current); from 1 L.Ed.2d (1956 - current); 1 - 100 L.Ed. (1790 - 1956); and from 1 S.Ct. (1882 - current).
1790-present

United States Government Documents: A Guide

Following SCOTUS

Case Law

U.S. Supreme Court

U.S. Federal Courts