Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Hogan Jazz Archive General Research Guide

A general overview of the Hogan Jazz Archive collection and other helpful research resources for the study of jazz and the musical culture of New Orleans.

Historic Newspapers

NEWSPAPERS

Newspapers are an important resource for historical research.  The Hogan Jazz Archive's newspaper holdings include microfilm copies of several years of The Mascot, a 19th century, sensationalist New Orleans newspaper, and an incomplete run of the Chicago Defender (from 1909-1949).

Many local newspapers, including the Times-Picayune, have been digitized and are available to Tulane students and faculty via the Library's subscription databases. Non-Tulane affiliates can access these databases using the public terminal in the Archive's reading room.

Print Newspapers

PRINT NEWSPAPERS IN THE JAZZ ARCHIVE

Louisiana News Sources

The long-running Baton Rouge Advocate expanded into the New Orleans market in October 2012 after the Times-Picayune announced a reduced print publication schedule. The Advocate continues to publish Baton Rouge and Lafayette editions.

 

Long considered the paper of record in New Orleans, the Times-Picayune is the descendant of the Daily Picayune, which began publication in 1837, and later merged with the Times-Democrat in 1914.

 

Louisiana newspapers included in this database include:

  • Abbeville Meridional 03/26/2008-07/03/2010 (Abbeville)
  • Advocate, The 01/01/1986-Current (Baton Rouge)
  • Alexandria Examiner 08/04/2010-Current (Alexandria)
  • American Press 09/14/2002-10/28/2008 (Lake Charles)
  • Bastrop Daily Enterprise 01/08/2001-Current (Bastrop)
  • Baton Rouge Examiner 04/09/2009-Current (Baton Rouge)
  • Beauregard Daily News 02/13/2001-Current (De Ridder)
  • Crowley Post-Signal, The 03/04/2008-07/01/2010 (Crowley)
  • Daily Iberian, The 10/16/2001-Current (New Iberia)
  • Daily News, The 01/02/2000-Current (Bogalusa)
  • Daily Review, The 05/04/2006-Current (Morgan City)
  • Donaldsonville Chief, The 06/11/2008-Current (Donaldsonville)
  • Franklin Banner-Tribune, The 12/04/2006-Current (Franklin)
  • Gonzales Weekly Citizen 02/21/2001-Current (Ascension)
  • Kaplan Herald 07/31/2008-07/01/2010 (Kaplan)
  • L'Observateur 01/04/1998-Current (La Place)
  • Lafayette Examiner 07/13/2009-Current (Lafayette)
  • Lake Charles Examiner 12/09/2009-Current (Lake Charles)
  • Leesville Daily Leader, The 02/12/2001-Current (Leesville)
  • Monroe Examiner 12/23/2009-Current (Monroe)
  • New Orleans Examiner 09/28/2008-Current (New Orleans)
  • Plaquemine Post South 04/06/2009-Current (Plaquemine)
  • Shreveport Examiner 08/14/2009-Current (Shreveport)
  • Southwest Daily News 02/14/2001-Current (Sulphur)
  • St. Tammany News 08/04/1996-Current (Covington)
  • Black Republican 1865
  • Community Leader 1985
  • Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883
  • Echo 1873
  • Inside New Orleans 1965
  • L'Union 1862 to 1864
  • New Orleans Daily Creole 1856
  • New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869
  • Observer 1900
  • Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882
  • Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889
  • Abeja 1829 to 1831 (Hispanic American)
  • Black Republican 1865 (African American)
  • Community Leader 1885 (African American)
  • Concordia Eagle 1875 to 1883 (African American)
  • Courrier de la Louisiane 1821 to 1824
  • Daily Delta 1846 to 1863
  • Daily True Delta 1857 to 1864
  • Echo 1873 (African American)
  • Inside New Orleans 1965 (African American)
  • Jeffersonian 1842
  • Jeffersonian Republican 1844 to 1847
  • Louisiana Advertiser 1820 to 1827
  • Louisiana Herald 1819 to 1820
  • Louisiana Planter 1810
  • Louisiana Rambler 1818
  • Louisiana State Gazette 1825 to 1826 includes: La Gazette d'etat de la Louisiane
  • Louisianian 1819 to 1820
  • L'Union 1862 to 1864 (African American)
  • Mexicano 1813 (Hispanic American)
  • Misisipi 1808 (Hispanic American)
  • New Orleans Argus 1828 to 1832
  • New Orleans Daily Creole 1856 (African American)
  • New Orleans Item 1877 to 1922
  • New Orleans States 1916 to 1922
  • New Orleans Times 1865 to 1878
  • New Orleans Tribune 1864 to 1869 (African American)
  • New Orleans Weekly Times 1865 to 1867
  • Observer 1900 (African American)
  • Orleans Gazette & Commercial Advertiser 1805 to 1819
  • Orleans Gazette 1805 to 1819
  • Sunday Delta 1856 to 1860
  • Times Picayune (and Daily Picayune) 1837 to 1988
  • True Delta 1862
  • Weekly Louisianian 1870 to 1882 (African American)
  • Weekly Pelican 1886 to 1889 (African American)
  • Daily Picayune 1840-1865
  • Mexicano 1813
  • Abeja 1829 to 1831
  • Misisipi 1808
  • Louisiana Signal 1860
  • DeBow’s Review 1860-1864
  • New-Orleans Commercial Bulletin 1833-1836, 1844-1868
  • Orleans Gazette, and Commercial Advertiser 1805-1820
  • Southwestern Christian Advocate 1877-1899
  • Louisiana Advertiser 1826-1828
  • Daily Picayune 1861-1899
Loading