An alphabetical listing of databases containing primary sources. Also consult other tabs in this guide for primary source databases organized by historical theme or time period.
Includes access to African American Newspapers parts I-XII, Charlestion South Carolina Gazette, Pennsylvania Gazette, The Liberator Folio I – VII, Civil War: A Newspaper perspective.
Tulane has access to the following History Commons modules:
- Indigenous Peoples Social Justice and Culture
- LGBTQ+ Social Justice and Culture
- Refugees, Migration, and Borders Social Justice and Culture
- African American Newspapers parts I-XIIS (formerly Accessible Archives)
- Civil War Collection Part 1, A Newspaper Perspective
- The Liberator, 1831-1865
- The South Carolina Gazette, 1732-1780
- The Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
- The Pennsylvania Genealogical Catalogue
- Pennsylvania Newspaper Record
- Reconstruction of Southern States: Pamphlets
- Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman
- Twelve Years a Slave
- The Virginia Gazette, 1736-1780
Part of Duke Univeristy Library's Digital Collections, AdView includes thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
Includes broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.
Collections included are:
American Broadsides and Ephemera
- Evans, 1639-1800
- Evans: Supplement from LCP
- Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
- Shaw-Shoemaker: Supplement from LCP
America's Historical Newspapers
- African American Newspapers
- Early American Newspapers Series 1-8 and 19
- Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection
- Hispanic American Newspapers
The Literature of Early America
- Defining a Nation: The Literature of Early America 1645-1796, Series 1
World Newspaper Archive
- African Newspapers
- Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2
- South Asian Newspapers
Full-text books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, including original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, and religious history.
Access commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This is a subcollection of Academic Video Online.
Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism
Contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children’s and women’s magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's. covers more than 1,000 titles from 1741-1940. Produced through partnership with the Center for Research Libraries, of which Tulane is a member.
From 1936 to 1938, the Federal Writers' Project employed writers and journalists to interview ex-slaves in the United States. Nearly 4,000 interviews were ultimately collected and are presented in this database.
The Graff Collection is a unique resource which contains original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.
Browse a wide range of rare and original documents including printed books, journals, historic maps, broadsides, periodicals, advertisements, photographs, artwork and more.
Provides access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Europe, Australia, Brazil, and more.
The Annual Register is a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. Includes every volume published and will be updated with the latest volume each year. Particularly useful for coverage of the American Revolution.
AP captures events from history and brings them to life with photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text. Content is accessible through a variety of searches – from keyword and category to color and concept searching.
Archives Unbound presents topically focused digital collections of historical documents, including government records, books, manuscripts, correspondence, pamphlets, periodicals, and ephemera. Tulane provides access to 67 primary source collections, with a strong focus on U.S. foreign relations, European colonialism and history, the U.S. Civil Rights Movement, women's history, southern history, and Holocaust.
Collections included are: - Actes Royaux Français, 1256-1794 (French Royal Acts, 1256-1794) - Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files - Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886 - America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War - American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism - Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League - City and Business Directories: Louisiana, 1805-1929 - Civil Rights and Social Activism in the South - James A. Dombrowski and the Southern Conference Educational Fund - Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 - Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama - Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files - East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929 - Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910 - FBI File: Assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. - FBI File: Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Communists in the Motion Picture Industry - Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman - Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s - Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920–1984 - Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents - Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 - Global Missions and Theology - Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes - Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975 - Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration - JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963 - James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi - Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan - Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848) - King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959 - L'Affaire Dreyfus: son influence dans la création de la France moderne (The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France) - La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945: Résistance et journaux de Vichy (Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy Newspapers) - La Guerra Civil Española - Liberation Movement in Africa and African America - Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935 - Mercure de France, 1672-1810 - National Security and FBI Surveillance Enemy Aliens - Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration - Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 - Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement - Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis - Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 - Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 - Public Housing, Racial Policies, and Civil Rights: The Intergroup Relations Branch of the Federal Public Housing Administration, 1936-1963 - Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871–1884 - Records of the Persian Gulf War - Republic of New Afrika - SUR, 1931-1992 - Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London - The Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955 - The Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944 - The Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 - The Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974 - The Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993 - The War on Poverty and the Office of Economic Opportunity: Administration of Antipoverty Programs and Civil Rights, 1964-1967 - Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927 - Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 - U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 - U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958 - War on Poverty Community Profiles: Southern States - War on Poverty: Office of Civil Rights, 1965–1968 - Witchcraft in Europe and America - Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977 - Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
This collection details the extensive work of African Americans to abolish slavery in the United States prior to the Civil War. Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings of the activists themselves. Includes articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England, Scotland, Ireland, France and Germany.
In-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements of complete published non-fiction works as well as interviews, journal articles, letters and other fugitive material. The works include monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present
Full text of papers that were presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, and that relate to the governance of, and activities in, the American, Canadian and West Indian colonies of England.
A comprehensive resource of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data, the text of the Congressional Record, and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. Tulane has access to content through 2024.
Online access to previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond, users can locate key information underpinning studies in international relations, American studies, United States foreign and domestic policy studies, journalism and more.
Comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Collections cover the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post-World War II through the 21st century, with access to declassified government documents. The DNSA is comprised of many database collections which can be searched individually or together. Created in partnership with the Nation Security Archive.
The resource comprises the following databases; Afghanistan: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1973–1990; The Afghanistan War and the United States, 1998-2017; Argentina, 1975-1980: The Making of U.S. Human Rights Policy; The Berlin Crisis, 1958–1962; Chile and the United States: U.S. Policy toward Democracy, Dictatorship, and Human Rights, 1970–1990; China and the United States: From Hostility to Engagement, 1960–1998; CIA Covert Operations: From Carter to Obama, 1977-2010; CIA Family Jewels Indexed; Colombia and the United States: Political Violence, Narcotics, and Human Rights, 1948-2010; The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962; The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update; The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection, From Bay of Pigs to Nuclear Brink; Death Squads, Guerrilla War, Covert Ops, and Genocide: Guatemala and the United States, 1954-1999; Electronic Surveillance and the National Security Agency: From Shamrock to Snowden; El Salvador: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1984; El Salvador: War, Peace, and Human Rights, 1980–1994; Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980; The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988; Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994; Japan and the United States: Diplomatic, Security, and Economic Relations, 1960–1976, 1877-1992, and Part III, 1961-2000; The Kissinger Telephone Conversations: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; The Kissinger Transcripts: A Verbatim Record of U.S. Diplomacy, 1969-1977; Mexico-United States Counternarcotics Policy, 1969-2013; The National Security Agency: Organization and Operations, 1945-2009; Nicaragua: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1978–1990; Peru: Human Rights, Drugs and Democracy, 1980-2000; The Philippines: U.S. Policy During the Marcos Years, 1965–1986; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part I: From Truman to Clinton; Presidential Directives on National Security, Part II: From Truman to George W. Bush; South Africa: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1962–1989; The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947–1991; Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004; Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002; U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015; U.S. Espionage and Intelligence, 1947–1996; U.S. Intelligence and China: Collection, Analysis and Covert Action; The U.S. Intelligence Community: Organization, Operations and Management, 1947–1989; The U.S. Intelligence Community After 9/11; U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq; U.S. Military Uses of Space, 1945–1991; U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1955–1968; U.S. Nuclear Nonproliferation Policy, 1945–1991; U.S. Policy in the Vietnam War, Part I (1954-1968) and Part II: (1969-1975); U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015; and The United States and the Two Koreas, Part 1 (1969-2000) and Part II (1969-2010).
Covers every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the first nineteen years of the nineteenth century
Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a digital library providing access to 3.5 million pages of Canada's printed heritage. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century.
1) Pilot Project: Approximately 500,000 pages from a variety of subjects, including Canadian women’s history, English Canadian literature, the history of French Canada, and native studies.
2) Early Governors General of Canada: 60 publications focusing early Governors General of Canada.
3) Hudson’s Bay Company publications: 160 titles
4) Jesuit Relations: 73 volume set of books in the original Italian, Latin and French with commentary and translation into English.
5) Official publications: 1.5 million pages of pre-1900 Canadian official publications, including journals of legislative assemblies of the various colonies of pre-Confederation Canada, Journal of the House of Commons, Debates of the House of Commons, Debates of the Senate, Reconstituted Debates of Canada, Sessional papers, Journals of the Senate, tatutes of Canada, Statutes of the pre-Confederation colonial legislative councils, and debates of the pre-Confederation colonial house of assemblies.
6) Periodicals: Approximately 1.25 million pages of pre-1920 Canadian periodicals.
Contains letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters from 1534-1850. Effective browsing and searching capabilities allow, for example, to identify all encounters between the French and the Huron between 1650 and 1700.
Resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library -- addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature, offering vivid insights into the daily lives of women and men, as well as emphasizing contrasts in regional, urban and rural cultures.
In partnership with the Bibliotheque Nationale de France, the Library of Congress presents a digital library of documents highlighting the French presence in North America from the 16th to the end of the 19th centuries.
The definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history (1543-1945). Trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements.
Covers the cultural landscape of America during the decades between the end of the Civil War and the election of Theodore Roosevelt. Includes essays, songs, letters, photographs, cartoons, government documents, ephemera, and interviews.
The Great War Primary Documents Archive is dedicated to the collection, preservation, and development in electronic form of materials relating to the First World War. It is the first and largest online full text international collection of documents and images related to the Great War period, 1880-1926.
Includes full text of reference books, encyclopedias, historical documents, biographies, photographs, and video. Database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps. and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Includes photographs detailing social, military, and political perspectives. Also includes graphical content such as envelopes, song sheets, recruiting posters, imprints, and cartoons. Formerly known as American Civil War: Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera.
This resource explores the history of Jewish communities in America bringing to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, whilst tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.
This database contains more than 61,000 books from the period 1460-1850, and 466 pre-1906 serials. In almost 12 million pages, it focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
Contains the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as images of the original manuscripts. The collection is drawn entirely from the holdings of the American Antiquarian Society.
Original records shed new light on Native American history. Includes Native American photos, Indian Census Rolls (1885-1940), Dawes Enrollment Cards (1898-1914), and more.
Draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage of books, archival collections, articles, journals, magazines, and more.
Includes over 2,000 authors providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950. Includes content from the Ellis Island Oral History Project, Chilean accounts of the California Gold Rush, a family account of fleeing the Khmer Rouge in Cambodia, and more. Content types include cartoons and comic strips; books; diaries, memoirs, and autobiographies, editorial commentary, letters, and oral histories.
Collection of women's diaries and correspondence from Colonial times to 1950. Sources include journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous.
Provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines. Offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
Brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
From the everyday to the extraordinary, these rare diaries and the supporting correspondence describe the travel experiences, destinations and desires of nineteenth and twentieth century American women.
The project has wide ranging interdisciplinary appeal, offering first hand accounts of major historical events as reported by eye witnesses, detailing key interests and themes in women’s lives, providing snapshots of cities, cultures and customs, and charting the rise of modern tourism and the travel industry. Topics covered include: Emigration and daily life, Missionary Work, World War I, World War II, Boxer War in China, Frontier Life in America, Personal Enlightenment through travel, Education and Finishing School, Sightseeing, Holidays and Tourism, Customs, culture and leisure.
The earliest texts in this comprehensive collection on witchcraft date from the 15th century and the latest are from the early 20th century. The majority of the material concerns the 16th to 18th centuries, the so-called "classic period."
In addition to these classic texts, the collection includes anti-persecution writings, works by penologists, legal and church documents, exposés of persecutions, and philosophical writings and transcripts of trials and exorcisms.
Provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender with material dating back to the sixteenth century. Topics include health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, and erotica.
Archives Unbound presents topically focused digital collections of historical documents, including government records, books, manuscripts, correspondence, pamphlets, periodicals, and ephemera. Tulane provides access to 67 primary source collections, with a strong focus on U.S. foreign relations, European colonialism and history, the U.S. Civil Rights Movement, women's history, southern history, and Holocaust.
Collections included are: - Actes Royaux Français, 1256-1794 (French Royal Acts, 1256-1794) - Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files - Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886 - America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War - American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism - Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League - City and Business Directories: Louisiana, 1805-1929 - Civil Rights and Social Activism in the South - James A. Dombrowski and the Southern Conference Educational Fund - Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945 - Confederate Newspapers: A Collection from Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia and Alabama - Democracy in Turkey, 1950-1959: Records of the U.S. State Department Classified Files - East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Italian Colonies in North Africa and Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 - European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929 - Evangelism and the Syria-Lebanon Mission: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1869-1910 - FBI File: Assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. - FBI File: Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Communists in the Motion Picture Industry - Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman - Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s - Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920–1984 - Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents - Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 - Global Missions and Theology - Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes - Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council's Vietnam Information Group, 1967-1975 - Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West's Response to Jewish Emigration - JFK and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963 - James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi - Japan at War and Peace, 1930-1949: U.S. State Department Records on the Internal Affairs of Japan - Journaux de la Révolution de 1848 (Newspapers of the French Revolution 1848) - King and the People in Morocco, 1950-1959 - L'Affaire Dreyfus: son influence dans la création de la France moderne (The Dreyfus Affair in the Making of Modern France) - La France pendant la guerre 1939-1945: Résistance et journaux de Vichy (Voices from Wartime France 1939-1945: Clandestine Resistance and Vichy Newspapers) - La Guerra Civil Española - Liberation Movement in Africa and African America - Liberia and the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935 - Mercure de France, 1672-1810 - National Security and FBI Surveillance Enemy Aliens - Northern Ireland: A Divided Community, 1921-1972 Cabinet Papers of the Stormont Administration - Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880 - Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement - Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis - Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 - Post-War Europe: Refugees, Exile and Resettlement, 1945-1950 - Public Housing, Racial Policies, and Civil Rights: The Intergroup Relations Branch of the Federal Public Housing Administration, 1936-1963 - Reconstruction, Jim Crow, and the Enforcement of Federal Law in the South, 1871–1884 - Records of the Persian Gulf War - Republic of New Afrika - SUR, 1931-1992 - Testaments to the Holocaust. Documents and Rare Printed Materials from the Wiener Library, London - The Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955 - The Economy and War in the Third Reich, 1933-1944 - The Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970 - The Middle East Online: Iraq, 1914-1974 - The Savings and Loan Crisis: Loss of Public Trust and the Federal Bailout, 1989-1993 - The War on Poverty and the Office of Economic Opportunity: Administration of Antipoverty Programs and Civil Rights, 1964-1967 - Through the Camera Lens: The Moving Picture World and the Silent Cinema Era, 1907-1927 - Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 - U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 - U.S. and Iraqi Relations: U.S. Technical Aid, 1950-1958 - War on Poverty Community Profiles: Southern States - War on Poverty: Office of Civil Rights, 1965–1968 - Witchcraft in Europe and America - Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977 - Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
Offers the opportunity to study the most well-known and also unheralded events of the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the men, women, and sometimes even children who waged one of the most inspiring social movements in American history.
The resource comprises the following modules: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records and Supplement ; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Parts 1 and 2: NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; and African American Police League Records (1961-1988).
A collection from the Imperial War Museum, London, which includes charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, and press cuttings, along with interpretative essays from leading scholars. Together these documents are useful for the study of 20th Century social, political, military and gender history.
The history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. history generally at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible.
The collection currently includes 91 document projects and archives with more than 3,600 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors.
