Skip to main content Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Citation Management in the Health Sciences: RefWorks and Endnote

A resource guide to provide advice and assistance with EndNote and RefWorks.

What is a citation management program?

When you find articles of interest in a database or search engine, programs such as RefWorks or EndNote make it easy to pull the citations into a personal database and create a collection of references and cite them in your document - the software will automatically put in correctly formatted citations and a bibliography.  The Matas Library provides support for RefWorks and EndNote Web.  There are many other tools available.


RefWorks is a free, online citation management tool for Tulane faculty, staff, students and alumni. 

What's new in RefWorks

March 6, 2015

A new version of Write-N-Cite/ ProQuest for Word for both Windows (v. 4.4.1298) and Mac (v. 4.4.1245) is now available. These versions resolve the following issues:

Windows users: Java 8 update affecting log in to Write-N-Cite/ProQuest For Word and creating multiple log files

Mac OS X 10.9 (Mavericks) and 10.10 (Yosemite) Users: Please download Java 6 from Apple's support site directly by visiting, before installing Write-N-Cite/ProQuest for Word.

Download Write-N-Cite for Word from the Tools menu in your RefWorks account.

More citation management options

For overviews and assistance with Zotero, Mendeley, and EasyBib see "Citation Management Tools" in Howard-Tilton's Citation and Writing Guide below. 

The Tulane Proxy URL for full text in citation management

A proxy link may be required to view full-text in desktop versions of Papers for Macs & EndNote. Copy and paste the URL below in front of the link to a journal article to authenticate for full-text access. The software versions that are purchased for individual use are not generally supported by the Matas Library. 

EndNote - URL:

Papers (for Macs) - URL:

EndNote & EndNote Web


EndNote is a desktop program designed to manage your references. It is offered at a reduced rate to current Tulane students and employees. 

EndNote Web is a free web-based version of Endnote. Some restrictions apply.

PubMed Results and citation manager software