Library Guides: Sustainable Development in Latin America: Articles

Databases and journals related to Sustainable Development in Latin America

The following databases are related to Sustainable Development in Latin America

BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) This link opens in a new window
BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine), a German database, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic resources like journal articles, dissertations and theses, and research reports. It is especially strong in international and open access content.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
EBSCO’s Environment Complete database offers coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study. The resource includes more than 1,200 full-text journals and monographs, nearly 4 million records, indexing for more than 2,000 domestic and international journals dating back more than 100 years and more than 180 full-text monographs. Offering full text and indexing for these journals, books and monographs, it is an invaluable resource for students and scholars across all environmental disciplines.
Fuente Academica This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica is a unique collection of scholarly journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History This link opens in a new window
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia (ORE) of Latin American History offer synopses of key historical topics and themes spanning Latin America and the Caribbean. Each encyclopedia article includes overview information, a discussion of the scholarly literature, a list of key primary sources, links to digital resources, and suggestions for further reading.
HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies) Web This link opens in a new window
This database contains bibliographic records found in the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the 1970s to the present. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources. The homepage for HLAS Web includes a link to HLAS Online, a database that includes records from 1935 to the present.
HAPI Online This link opens in a new window
Your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the US-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US. Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Latin American Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Use the "Publications" tab to see which newspapers and coverage the database includes.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of academic journals, business magazines and newspapers (including the Economist and the Wall Street Journal,) as well as Experian company records, industry and market research reports, and analyses of countries and economies.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Indexes academic journals, business magazines, and newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal. Also includes country information and statistics, company profiles, industry reports and market research reports. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.
World Agricultural Economics & Rural Sociology Abstracts (CAB Direct) This link opens in a new window
Searchable via the CAB Direct gateway, World Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology Abstracts (WAERSA) is an online bibliographic and abstracts database of internationally published research on applied rural socioeconomic research. Created and indexed by subject specialists, WAERSA provides access to these abstracts alongside comprehensive indexing and classification codes with a fully searchable backfile to 1973 of over 400,000 abstracts with approximately 20,000 new records added each year.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Scholarship on the history of the world (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Includes world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Access full-text, high-quality scholarly content (journals and books) in the humanities and social sciences as published by select leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Dialnet This link opens in a new window
Created and hosted by the Universidad de La Rioja, Dialnet contains citations and some full text access for over 10,000 scholarly journals from Spain, Portugal, and Latin America. Also included are over 6 million monographs, doctoral theses, proceedings, and other documents.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) This link opens in a new window
Model Open Access portal to full-text journals and books published in most countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as Portugal and Spain.

EcoCentral : Central American economy & sustainable development
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals with articles in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin.
It offers key titles in English, Spanish and Portuguese indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles.
Hispanic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This resource covers the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to 1980 as recorded by the news media. It is sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals.

These are just a few examples of The Latin American Library's journal subscriptions.

EcoAméricas (Online)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EcoAméricas : a monthly report on development and the environment in Latin America.
- This link opens in a new window
EcoCentral : Central American economy & sustainable development
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Eleuthera
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Devoted to research and scholarship in human sustainable development and diversity and social justice issues in Latin America.
Desenvolvimento e meio ambiente
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Development Centre Seminars
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This series of publications presents the proceedings of conferences and seminars on various development issues held by the OECD Development Centre, often in co-operation with other organisations
Latin America and the Caribbean (United States. Agency for International Development : Online)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Economic survey of Latin America and the Caribbean
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Economic Survey of Latin America and the Caribbean is issued annually by the Economic Development Division of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC). It covers the economic situation in Latin America and the Caribbean and provides a concurrent economic overview of the region, as provided by the Division and other experts based on statistical indicators which are collected annually.
Revenue statistics in Latin America and the Caribbean = Estadísticas tributarias en América Latina y el Caribe
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
provides internationally comparable data on tax levels and tax structures for a selection of Latin American and Caribbean (LAC) countries.
Development Policy Review
Globalization and Health
Health Policy and Planning
Journal of peasant studies
NACLA Report on the Americas
The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) is an independent, nonprofit organization that provides information and analysis on Latin America and the Caribbean.

LAL has hundreds of print and electronic journal subscriptions. Use these tips to search the Library Catalog:

Like books, journals are assigned Subject Headings (controlled vocabulary keywords) when cataloged. Click on different Subject Heading searches below to try it out. Try switching up the country and region specific words below to match up these suggested searches with your own interests.

Arts -- Latin America -- Periodicals
Humanities -- Latin America -- Periodicals
Latin America -- Economic Conditions -- Periodicals
Political Science -- Latin America -- Periodicals
Social Science -- Latin America -- Periodicals

Find an article that isn't available full text? Sign in (with your Tulane ID and password) to Tulane's Interlibrary Loan and request the article! We can obtain a copy from another library and send it your way.

Inter-Library Loan is free service. In addition to journal articles, you can order books, microfilm, dissertations and theses as well as government documents. Questions? Write the Inter Library Loan department at ill@tulane.edu.