Skip to main content Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

MATAS 101. Introduction to Finding Health Science Library Resources and Materials: A Guide

A basic introduction to finding health science articles and books as well as explain library services to new users of the Matas Library.

Finding articles

Databases & Indexes (the terms are often used interchangeably) are generally used to identify research articles, technical reports, book chapters, and other materials on your topic. You may need to search more than one database to locate the most appropriate materials for your information need. A list of databases is provided on the right. 

Steps to find an article

1. Select a database that has information about the topic you're searching for.

2. Search the database using keywords that represent the information you want to find.

3. Browse through the list of results and find an article that is relevant to your need.

4. Locate the full-text of the article.  Sometimes the full-text is in the database.  If not, use TU Link to search the library's full-text holdings.  If the library has the article, TU Link will give you a link to the full-text.

5. If you need search assistance, contact the Matas Library. medref@tulane.edu or 504-988-5155

Getting the full-text

Some databases don't include the full-text of articles. When there's no full-text, click on the TU Link button. This will search through the library's full-text holdings in other databases and give you a link to the full-text of the article.

If there is no online access,  a link to search the library catalog will check for full-text in print.

If the article or book is unavailable, request it via Interlibrary loan. First time users need to create an account. 

Clinical and Health Research Databases

Scholarly Multidisciplinary Databases

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.