Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Library Guide

This desktop and library reference book provides a comprehensive yet concise overview of the materials, manufacture, structure and architecture, properties, processing, and applications of withing the field of polymers.

"Written by engineers for engineers (with over 150 International Editorial Advisory Board members), this highly lauded resource provides up-to-the-minute information on the chemical processes, methods, practices, products, and standards in the chemical, and related, industries.

Get Cutting-Edge Coverage of All Chemical Engineering Topics from Fundamentals to the Latest Computer Applications.

Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers, Sixth Edition, is the most complete guide for chemical and process engineers who need reliable and authoritative solutions to on-the-job problems. The text is comprehensively revised and updated with new data and formulas. The book helps solve process design problems quickly, accurately and safely, with hundreds of common sense techniques, shortcuts and calculations. Its concise sections detail the steps needed to answer critical design questions and challenges. The book discusses physical properties for proprietary materials, pharmaceutical and biopharmaceutical sector heuristics, process design, closed-loop heat transfer systems, heat exchangers, packed columns and structured packings. This book will help you: save time you no longer have to spend on theory or derivations; improve accuracy by exploiting well tested and accepted methods culled from industry experts; and save money by reducing reliance on consultants. The book brings together solutions, information and work-arounds from engineers in the process industry. Includes new chapters on biotechnology and filtration Incorporates additional tables with typical values and new calculations Features supporting data for selecting and specifying heat transfer equipment

Covering a broad range of polymer science topics.

Since its inception in the early 1950′s, this book has become the number one resource for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its eleventh edition, it contains extensive data on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2000 new entries. The three-volume set now includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDHL) levels for approximately 1000 chemicals, proving essential for designing adequate ventilation systems and selection of respiratory protection. Other highlights include: A special appendix containing information of nerve gases and biological agents that might appear in the workplace as a result of terrorist activity It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information Regulatory data covers exposure level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation Sax′s Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, Eleventh Edition provides an essential, up-to-date resource for professionals in industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policymaking.