The journal literature in history is divided geographically between two major databases: America: History & Life covers journal articles about the United States and Canada, and Historical Abstracts covers journal literature for world history outside the U.S. and Canada, 1450-present. Don't forget that books are the most important publishing format for historians, so don't stop with journal articles in your research!
There are also databases that specialize in scholarship of a particular geographic region, or an historical time period. Use the tabs above to browse these specialized databases.
The following databases index journal articles and other scholarship specific to a geographic region. Select one that best fits your area of study. Keep in mind most of these are interdisciplinary, and thus not limited to the scholarship of historians.
Most databases are organized along disciplinary or geographic lines, but there are a few that focus on a specific time period. Most of these relate to ancient and medieval studies. The Victorian Database is the only exception to the trend in this list.
The following online indexes provide means to search the scholarship on the history of science. Both are open access initiatives, meaning they are free to use for students and scholars around the world. To locate discovered resources in Tulane's library collections, copy and past the title into Library Search and select the appropriate resource type (Books, Articles, etc.).
You may also find the following specialized guides useful for research in history: