A brief guide to Tulane University's National Register campus. It includes illustrations from the holdings of the Southeastern Architectural Archive, as well as a campus map. Compiled by Keli Rylance in conjunction with the 2010 Annual Meeting of the Association of Architecture School Librarians. Revised August 2012.
A guide to perspectival drawing written by long-term Tulane School of Architecture faculty member Milton G. Scheuermann, Jr. Titled "Perspective Drawing: A Practical Approach for Architects" (New Orleans: Tulane School of Architecture, c. 1965), the guide is a concise and thorough summary of the drafting process. Includes instructions for one- and two-point perspectival drawing, diagrams, and short cuts.
PDF Document below in three parts.
Documents developed in conjunction with the Southeastern Architectural Archive's Bungalows exhibit.
Welcome to the Architecture Research Guide!
This site is intended to help researchers find the resources they need by providing links to article and image databases, library resources, Internet portals and other reference tools. It augments the Architecture Research Blog begun by Dr. Keli Rylance at the Tulane Libraries. While this page provides quick links to resources, the blog includes narrative examples of the ways in which these resources may be used to solve research problems. Additionally, it includes citation models for images and text, as well as listings of current events and thematic issues.
If you are researching historic preservation and related topics, you may wish to consult the Historic Preservation Research Guide.
All images provided courtesy of the Southeastern Architectural Archive, Special Collections Division, Tulane University Libraries, unless otherwise indicated.
These are some helpful guides to conducting research related to history, architectural history, construction and visual design:
Borden, Iain. The Dissertation: An Architecture Student's Handbook. Amsterdam & Boston: Architectural Press, 2006. ARCH Reference NA2108.B67 2006
Cronon, William. "Learning to Do Historical Research: A Primer." Department of Geography, University of Wisconsin-Madison (Fall 2008). Online at: http://www.williamcronon.net/researching/website.htm
Fellows, Richard. Research Methods for Construction. Oxford: Blackwell Science, 1997. Available for Tulane affiliates as an e-book through EBSCO. Consult Tulane University's online catalog for link.
Groat, Linda N. Architectural Research Methods. New York: Wiley, 2002. ARCH NA2000.G76 2002
Sanoff, Henry. Visual Research Methods in Design. New York: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1991. ARCH NA2750.S25 1991
Citing sources properly is an essential component of sound research practice. The following resources can facilitate the process:
Through 20 May 2015
The Southeastern Architectural Archive’s Bungalows exhibit is the first such to focus on Gulf Coast vernacular bungalow and cottage architecture. Issues of stylistic and typological adaptation, sustainability and climate-specific design are highlighted with the use of original architectural drawings, historic photographs, building trade catalogs, material samples and subdivision surveys. The focus of the exhibit is on regional innovation and adaptation.
Image above: The Decoration of Our Homes. National Lead Company. 1924. Architectural Trade Catalogs, Southeastern Architectural Archive, Special Collections Division, Tulane University Libraries.