Skip to main content Research Guides at Tulane University Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

Mathematics Research Guide

Useful tools, resources and advice for students, staff, and faculty in the Department of Mathematics.

Tools to Choose From

new refworks logo

RefWorks is a citation management software program which is paid for through Tulane University. Students will have access to their account after they graduate. RefWorks has a large number of Journal specific citation styles to choose from as well as standard citation styles.

RefWorks has two useful plugins:

  • Write-N-Cite: A Word plugin which creates automatic in-text citations in the citation style of your choosing
  • RefGrab-It: A tool which captures the citation information from websites

Step-by-step RefWorks and Write-N-Cite instructions for Tulane Students (RefWorks LEGACY): including instructions on creating your account, managing your citations, database specific import/export instructions (including EBSCO and ProQuest platforms), creating your bibliography, and Write-N-Cite instructions.

Logo for Endnote 9

EndNote X9 is a comprehensive productivity tool for researchers—both online and off. The only tool of its kind, EndNote X9 makes managing research easy for anyone from the novice researcher publishing their first discovery to the senior professor writing a grant. It lets researchers find, store, and share work in the most efficient way possible, saving time and effort.

EndNote X9 instructions for downloading and using the program, including tutorials can be found at https://libguides.tulane.edu/endnote

EndNote Web - A link for Tulane users

EndNote Basic (or EndNote Web) is a citation management tool integrated into Web of Science. EndNote Web allows you to import records from other databases too. If you have EndNote Desktop (not freely available), you can sync it with EndNote Web. 

EndNote Basic has two useful plugins:

  • Cite While You Write: A Word plugin which allows you to create automatic in-text citations and a bibliography for your paper. 
  • Capture Tool:  A tool which captures the citation information from websites.

Step-by-step EndNote Basic and Cite While You Write Instructions for Tulane Studentsincluding instructions on creating your account, managing your citations, database specific import/export instructions (including EBSCO and ProQuest platforms), creating your bibliography, and Cite While You Write instructions.

EndNote Basic Online HelpSite with instructions for using EndNote Web

Mendeley logo

Mendeley is a desktop and web-based citation management tool. With it you can organize research materials, annotate PDFs, and create citations. You can also network with others researching in your discipline who are using Mendeley. Read more about it from Wikipedia.

A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself. Zotero allows you to attach PDFs, notes and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.

Since this is an Open Source Product, you have a lot of flexibility and can rely on a large community for troubleshooting and answers to your question.  

LaTeX : Freely available high-quality typesetting system used primarily in the Physical Sciences. Particularly useful for type-setting mathematical or chemical formulas as well as large documents.

BibTeX is an additional tool and file format which works with LaTeX to create bibliographies. Compatible with other Citation management software as well.

 

Loading ...

BibTex and Citation Management

  1. Log into RefWorks.
     
  2. Go to the References menu and select Export.
     
  3. In the drop-down menu, choose the RefWorks folder that contains the references you'd like to export.
     
  4. For the Export Format, choose BibTeX - RefWorks ID, then click Export. (If the file doesn't download automatically, there will be a prompt in the bottom right corner that allows you to email it to yourself or to open it in your web brower and save it from there.)
     
  5. Open the file. Go to the File menu and select Save Page As. Change the name of the file to yourfilename.bib and save it to the same folder that contains your LaTeX files.
     
  6. To link the new BibTeX file you created, use these two commands in your LaTeX document:
    • \bibliography{yourfilename} where yourfilename refers to the name of the .bib file you exported from RefWorks. This command generates the bibliography.
  7. To insert an in-text citation, use the command:
    • \cite{RefWorks:#} where RefWorks:# is the citation key assigned (in the .bib file) to the source you want to cite.

Eugene Barsky, University of British Colombia BibTex Research guide -  http://guides.library.ubc.ca/bibtex/refworks 

  1. Log into My EndNote Web.
     
  2. Go to the Format tab and select Export References.
     
  3. In the drop-down menu, choose the folder that contains the references you'd like to export.
     
  4. For the Export style, choose BibTeX Export, then click Save.
     
  5. Open the file. Go to the File menu and select Save Page As. Change the name of the file to yourfilename.bib and save it to the same folder that contains your LaTeX files.
     
  6. Add a citation key to each source by typing a unique code after the curly brackets. For example:
    • @article{key001
           author = ""
           title = "" ...
  7. To create your bibliography in your LaTeX file, enter two commands:
    • \bibliography{yourfilename} where yourfilename refers to the name of the .bib file you exported from EndNote Web. This command generates the bibliography.
  8. To insert an in-text citation, enter this command:
    • \cite{key001} where key001 is the citation key assigned (in the .bib file) to the source you want to cite.

Eugene Barsky, University of British Colombia BibTex Research guide: http://guides.library.ubc.ca/bibtex/endnote-web 

  1. Open Mendeley Desktop and select the files you wish to export.
     
  2. Go to the File menu and select Export. Save as BibTeX type and save to the same folder that contains your LaTeX files.
     
  3. To create your bibliography in your LaTeX file, enter two commands:
    • \bibliography{yourfilename} where yourfilename refers to the name of the .bib file you exported from Mendeley. This command generates the bibliography.
  4. To insert an in-text citation, enter this command:
    • \cite{__} where __ is the citation key assigned (in the .bib file) to the source you want to cite.

Eugene Barsky, University of British Colombia BibTex Research guide: http://guides.library.ubc.ca/bibtex/mendeley

Loading ...
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.