All Tulane library resources are licensed for academic purposes only. Using these resources for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited. Off-campus access is available only to current Tulane students, faculty, and staff.
Business Databases A-K
Questions? Contact a librarian at Turchin Business Library.
Searchable database of academic journals, business magazines and newspapers (including the Economist and the Wall Street Journal) as well as Experian company records, industry and market research reports, and analyses of countries and economies.
Our broadest, most general full-text database that includes both popular and scholarly periodicals. It covers virtually all academic areas of study, including social sciences, sciences, and humanities.
Global industry reports with a focus on forecasting. Includes country risk and financial market reports, and industries ranging from automotive to telecommunications. Geographic regions covered: Africa, Asia, Caribbean, Europe, Latin America, Middle East, and North America; reports are further divided by country.
**Available in the Freeman School Computer Lab-2nd floor, Room 201, GW1.**
Current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures for both international and domestic markets.
Research and analyze companies and industries around the world. Includes reference content from Gale's core business collection, company and investment research reports, industry rankings and surveys, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
Comprehensive database of core scholarly publications in disciplines including marketing, management, accounting, finance, information systems, international business, and more. Also includes industry profiles, market research reports, country reports, and SWOT analyses. Entire database can be searched a number of ways, including by subject, article title, author, keywords, date range, and periodical title.
**Available in the Freeman School Computer Lab-2nd floor, Room 201, GW1.**
Provides detailed company, industry, market, and transaction information, with screening, charting, and idea generating tools.
Thomson Reuters’ accounting research database Checkpoint offers tax, audit, accounting and finance tools. It includes federal, state, and local full text resources.
Checkpoint has a limit of 35 simultaneous users.
Provides in-depth profiles of a specific industry subsector within a country, including analysis of market opportunities, end-users, competitors, market access, distribution channels, market barriers, and financing options. The reports also list market sector prospects, trade promotion opportunities, and in-country contacts. This site replaces the former Market Research Library from U.S. Commercial Service.
Standardized and structured statistical data including key economic indicators. Covers subjects including banking and finance, criminal justice, education, industry and commerce, housing and construction, population and income, stocks and commodities, and more. International data includes China Data Center, International Monetary Fund, imports and exports, international finance statistics, World Bank statistics, and Stats Canada. Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.
Also includes EASI Market Planner with 13 data sets covering consumer behavior, consumer expenditures, consumer price index, consumer spending analytics, demographics, gross domestic product, health, industries, life stages, media, quality of life, and retail sales.
A collection of U.S. statistics and stories including information on demographics, public health, energy consumption, mean income and other topics categorized by location, industry, occupation and education.
Offers access to a collection of over 600 aggregated and integrated reference books.
**Available in Turchin Business Library, 3rd floor, GW1**
Provides historical time series data for a variety of securities and markets worldwide. Use Datastream to find historical equity, index, commodity, currency, ond, futures, options, economic data, etc. The Excel add-on allows researchers to download data on multiple securities simultaneously. Access is available to current A.B. Freeman students and faculty via one dedicated terminal in the Turchin Library Financial Analysis Lab.
Users have instant access to over 35,000 full-text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full-text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy, leadership, marketing and human resource management, plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science, and technology titles.
Global research resource available for free from Michigan State University's Center for International Business Education and Research. The site offers comprehensive international business and trade content organized by trade bloc, country, state, and industry. GlobalEdge also includes a glossary of international business terms, a resource directory, market potential index, and export tutorials.
Hoover’s features company profiles, industry information, and profiles of key executives. Profiles include a company overview, detailed history, officers and board members, competitors, products and operations, auditors, rankings, industry information, and historical financials.
A comprehensive collection of detailed industry research reports. Industry reports include industry analysis, outlook, products and markets, market segments, supply chain, major players, competitive landscape, operating conditions, key statistics, and more.
This subscription includes reports for the US and China, as well as global industry reports. Specialized industry reports are also included along with US business environment data profiles. Reports are typically 35-40 pages in length.
Selected articles from over 1,600 newspapers, magazines, and some journals. Coverage includes general news topics; foreign language news; company, industry, and market news; legal news; general health topics; accounting/tax info; government topics.
The Mintel database contains the following:
Mintel Academic- reports covering brands, companies, markets, consumers and trends. Each report combines data and analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.
Mintel Market Sizes – global market data including market size, share and segmentation data.
NationMaster is a free resource that compares countries across a variety of subjects including cost of living, crime, culture, government, health, energy, economy, industry, labor, and more. Data is pulled from sources such as the CIA World Fact Book, the United Nations, and the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
Create a free NYTimes.com account using your Tulane email (tulane.edu) address for a one year subscription to NYT. Academic Pass grants access to breaking news articles, archived articles, blogs, video, and interactive features. Does not include crossword puzzles or eReader editions. For web, iOS and Android.
The Online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Develoment (OECD) which includes publications in full-text including books, papers, and statistics. Data is available in PDF, WEB, XLS, ActiveChart, DATA, ePUB, and READ allowing users to easily find, cite, and analyze data. Database included content published by International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Provides business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. The database also includes information on private investors, private equity deals, mergers and acquisitions, and venture capital firms. **Users will be asked to create an individual account in order to view or download information.**
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world. Coverage: 1861 to present. Full text for most dissertations added since 1997. For Tulane dissertations, selective full text coverage begins in 1957.
Directory of US and Canadian businesses as well as consumer and lifestyle information. Users can search for businesses by multiple criteria including name, geography, industry, business size. Consumer/lifestyle database is searchable by geography, housing, and lifestyle categories.
A social sciences digital library that includes a range of SAGE eBook and eReference content, including scholarly books, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more.
Through 4/30/16 a trial of business cases and business video modules is available.
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters (both Open Access and library-subscribed) on scientific, technical, and medical research.
**Available in Turchin Business Library, 3rd floor, GW1.**
SDC Platinum provides detailed information on new issues, mergers and acquisitions, syndicated loans, private equity, project finance, poison pills, and more. Turchin Library's SDC subscription includes the Mergers & Acquisitions and Global New Issues modules. Access is available to current Freeman School students, faculty and staff via 2 terminals in Turchin Library's Financial Analysis Lab.
Indexes 3000 journals in over 50 social science fields. It supports comprehensive by subject and author, allowing users to find bibliographic information on research articles. Tulane Libraries provides a link to search for full text within search results. Database is also used to track article citations to journal articles, books, essays, and other academic publications.
Open Access repository of social science research to include an Abstract Database on scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers, an Electronic Paper Collection containing downloadable full text documents, and research papers of a number of Fee-Based Partner Publications.
Provides market research and industry news including coverage of sports participation, sports equipment sales, consumer expenditures, fan market, team research, venue reports, and sports marketing. SBRnet also includes full-text articles from VNU publications, and magazines and newsletters.
A growing collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries that are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations are included.
Must use with Internet Explorer. Disable pop-up blockers. Limit of 20 simultaneous users. Company information from a variety of sources provided by Thomson Reuters including: private equity, company financials and filings, mergers and acquisitions data and analyst reports. Data types include: company overviews, company news and price charts, corporate governance (takeover defense), corporate financial fundamentals, estimates (and earnings surprises), debt overview, company deals, share ownership information, company research, company financial filings, officers and directors.
Two options - select these from this database list:
ABI/Inform - Available from 1984 - Present. Click on link to publications and search Wall Street Journal.
Factiva (Current content) - Use 'Search Builder' to select Wall Street Journal.
Westlaw Campus Research has become Westlaw Next, an updated interface with powerful search capabilities. This is a legal research database providing access to cases, briefs, statutes, regulations, and legislative materials. It also provides access to legal analysis from national journals and law reviews, as well as legal reference materials (encyclopedias and dictionaries). It covers the United States and European Union.
Web-based business data research service from The Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Developed in 1993 to support faculty research at Wharton, the service has evolved to become a common tool for research for over 250 institutions around the world. Graduate students and Faculty are eligible for individual accounts.