Feminism StudiesLGBTQMasculinity StudiesRace & EthnicityStatistics
Videos
This is the "Home" page of the "Introduction to Gender and Sexuality Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Reseach Guides at Tulane University Nadine Vorhoff Library Newcomb College Institute of Tulane University

Introduction to Gender and Sexuality Studies  

An interdisciplinary introduction, critical perspectives on social construction, inequalities on basis of gender, activism around issues of gender and sex, and how gender and sex shape systems
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.tulane.edu/bennett Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Catalog


Find Books



 

Find E-Journal

Journal:

Suggest a Website

Found a website that you think fits this category? Please submit a link and a brief description for us to review and publish.

 

Your guide for Gender Studies resources

Welcome to the Gender Studies research guide!

This site is a collection of article databases, library resources, weblinks and research tips compiled by the librarians at the Tulane Libraries.

Books related to Gender Studies can be found at the Howard-Tilton Memorial Library and the Vorhoff Library.  The Library Catalog will search all holdings of both libraries (see the search box at left).

For articles and other resources found online, you can use the links of this page.  Just use the tabs above to start your research!


 

Search Hints

In women-focused databases, there’s usually no need to put “women” into your search, except where “women” is already part of the term.

  

In other databases, search for women (OR girls, if relevant) as one concept and AND that to your specific concept, such as hip hop, distance runners, or sitcoms. [You don’t need to put in “women” if your concept already contains a “women word” (ex: chick flicks, mothers, lipstick lesbians), a name (ex: Britney Spears)]

 

Search for synonyms or words that are close enough in meaning to be relevant to your search. Connect them with OR (ex: patriarchy or androcentrism or sexism; consumers or marketing or selling or product)

 

Search for word stems (truncate) where any ending of the stem would be useful. Ex: consum* finds consume, consumer, consumption, etc.

 

Read critically, especially free web material. Consider 1) who wrote the item, 2) the purpose of the site – is it trying to sell you something, convince you, share a particular point of view, inform/explain, etc., and 3) the accuracy of the information.

Google Books and Other Sources

Google's is not the only wholesale digitization effort going on. Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance (OCA; http://www.opencontentalliance.org/) The OCA intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection. OCA books will in the future be accessible directly through the OCA website and indexed through Yahoo, but are best browed or searched at present through the "texts" section of the Internet Archive site at http://www.archive.org/details/texts.

There are also projects that attempt to index available e-books. The Digital Book Index (DBI) at http://www.digitalbookindex.org/ has kept up reasonably well with existing projects, and the Online Books Page (http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/) links to 25,000 free e-books, but these figures will be dwarfed by the Google and OCA projects.

  • The Celebration of Women Writers
    The Celebration of Women Writers is a project developed in collaboration with the Online Books Page. Women writers' books digitized under the auspices of the project or linked to from the project are also indexed in the Online Books Page. In addition, Celebration of Women Writers links to biographical and bibliographical information about women writers.
  • Open Content Alliance
    Microsoft, Yahoo, and numerous university presses and other publishers teamed up in Fall 2005 to form the Open Content Alliance, which intends to build a multilingual and multimedia collection.
  • Internet Archive
    OCA books are best browed or searched through the "texts" section of the Internet Archives.
  • Digital Book Index
    The Digital Book Index has kept up reasonably well with existing projects - as of this writing it has indexed 130,000 books, of which 90,000 are freely accessible.
  • Online Books Page
    The Online Books Page links to over 1 million free e-books and is updated frequently.
 

Survey

Intro to GESS

Take a moment to complete this short survey to tell me what you think about this guide.
Name
Email
1. It is ______ to find resources for my discipline or area of study.
Easier
More difficult
About the same
2. The resources provided on the Recommended Websites page for each discipline are ____.
Very helpful
Somewhat helpful
Not helpful at all
3. I wish the guide also had information about...
4. Additional comments:

Resource Suggestions

Select Submit to suggest a helpful link or resource you found for case studies with our class!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip