Library Guides: Art History: Books

Browsing the Stacks

Virtually browse your art collection. The majority of art materials are located in Howard-Tilton Stacks (6th floor), as well as in the Latin American Library (4th floor, Howard-Tilton Memorial Library). Older materials located in Offsite Storage can be identified via Library Search and requested for onsite pickup.

The collection is organized according to the Library of Congress Classification system; related books are grouped together.

Call Numbers: Class N: Fine Arts

When viewing a catalog record of a book, watch out for the following clues:

ill. (illustrations)
illus. (illustrations)
Col. ill. (color illustrations)
pictorial works (as a subject heading)

Find Books

Library Search at Tulane This link opens in a new window
One-stop discovery of books/eBooks, articles, digital media, and more at Tulane University Libraries.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WorldCat allows you to discover materials at Tulane University AND in libraries worldwide. View local holdings or borrow from U.S. libraries using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Two different interfaces, the first a more in-depth option via subscription (FirstSearch, via the Tulane University icon link), and the second open-access (WorldCat Local, via the orange OA icon) offer unique user experiences.

Interlibrary Loan
If the libraries at Tulane don't have the article or book that you need, request an interlibrary loan. Our library will find a library that has the book or article and we'll have them send it to us.
Scan & Deliver
A service offering scanning journal articles or a book chapter or less from the library’s circulating print collections and delivering electronically to the faculty’s or student's interlibrary loan account within two business days.

Additional Resources

Art Discovery Group Catalogue
Search across multiple international art library catalogs. Formerly Artlibraries.net (Virtual Catalogue for Art History)
Biblioteca Hertziana: Catalogues ( Max Planck Institute for Art History)
Getty Publications Virtual Library
Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives
Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.
Institut national d'histoire de l'art (INHA): Library Portal
Kubicat (Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz)
Online catalog of the KHI, one of the oldest research institutions dedicated to the History of Art and Architecture in Italy.
NYARC Discovery
The catalog for three members of the New York Art Resources Consortium (NYARC). Arcade unites the collections of the Frick Art Reference Library and the libraries of the Brooklyn Museum and The Museum of Modern Art.
NYARC Discovery
Research tool from the libraries of the Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art. Find books, exhibition catalogs, auction sale catalogs, artists' books, images, online journal articles, historical newspapers, archives, web archives, photoarchives, and more.
Warburg Institute (University of London)

MetPublications: eBooks
Includes over 450 eBooks free online. MetPublications is a portal to The Met's comprehensive publishing program with over 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
MOMA Exhibitions
Digital documentation of MOMA exhibitions. Most include a digitized master checklist, press release, and exhibition catalog, along with installation photographs. Approximately 900 digital exhibition catalogs are available.

caa.reviews
Critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies. Published by the College Art Association.