Library Guides: Legislative History Research: A Guide: Find Bills

Where Can I Find Bills?

Listed below are the following resources that will provide you access to bills and their amendments (including private bills), and other types of proposed legislation such as joint, concurrent and general resolutions. Keep in mind that there are different versions of bills are produced through the legislative process. All final published bill versions will be available through from GPO of FDSys.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information, including bills & laws, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, reports, and the Congressional Record.
For Bills, use the check boxes to limit your search to Legislative Histories (1969-present) and/or Bills & Laws (1789-Present).
The resource includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, and legislative histories. It also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.

American Memory - Bills and Resolutions
Provides access to selective historical bills and resolutions from the 6th - 11th and 13th - 42nd Congresses. Also contains the House & Senate Journals from 1789 to 1875 and the American State Papers.
FDsys (GPO Access)
FDsys contains all published versions of bills from the 103rd Congress (1993 - 1994) to present.
GPO Access
GPO Access contains all published versions of bills from the 103rd congress (1993-1994) to present.
THOMAS: Bills & Resolutions
WEB ARCHIVE VERSION: The Bill Text feature covers the 101st Congress (1989) to the current Congress. Bill Summary & Status covers the 93rd Congress (1973) through the current Congress.