Skip to main content Matas Library Subject Guides Rudolph Matas Health Sciences Library Tulane University | Howard-Tilton Memorial Library's Homepage Tulane University Homepage

GEHS 6540 Swift: Course Guide: Pre-Test

GEHS 6540 - Occupational Health Services: A Matas Library Online Handout for professionals who work in occupational health and safety programs. Topics include occupational diseases, toxicology and other physical health hazards such as noise.

1. Are you familiar with PubMed?

 

1. Are you familiar with PubMed@TU?
Use it all the time!: 2 votes (9.09%)
Familiar with PubMed searching but not PubMed@TU.: 3 votes (13.64%)
Have never used PubMed.: 17 votes (77.27%)
Total Votes: 22

2. How do you generally locate full text electronic books or journals?

2. How do you generally locate full text electronic books or journals?
I have used TULink to locate full text articles from databases (like PubMed).: 1 votes (4.55%)
I have searched the Library website to locate books and journals by title.: 4 votes (18.18%)
I search Google and find full text information from books and journals.: 12 votes (54.55%)
I generally purchase books or journal articles.: 1 votes (4.55%)
I have trouble locating full text electronic books and journals.: 4 votes (18.18%)
Total Votes: 22

3. Are you Familiar with Interlibrary Loan Services?

 

3. Are you Familiar with Interlibrary Loan Services?
I have used this service and know how to request what I need.: 2 votes (9.09%)
I have not used this service but I understand how to make requests for articles.: 4 votes (18.18%)
I do not know what Interlibrary Loan Service means.: 16 votes (72.73%)
Total Votes: 22

4. Select a database or a resources you use and are familiar with in your current position.

Out of the choices below do you have a favorite resource where would you begin a search to locate relevant information for Occupational Health?  

Click on the database name to review the resource.  Not familiar with something?  (Check it out by clicking on the database name!  You may be required to sign into with your Tulane username (without the @tulane.edu) and password for off-campus access.

4. Select a database or a resources you use and are familiar with in your current position.
PubMed: 8 votes (33.33%)
Google OR Google Scholar (TU): 11 votes (45.83%)
TOXNET(ChemIDplus, TOXLINE and more): 1 votes (4.17%)
EMBASE.com: 0 votes (0%)
ScienceDirect: 1 votes (4.17%)
CISILO Database (ILO): 0 votes (0%)
ProQuest Databases: 3 votes (12.5%)
ClinicalKey (Elsevier): 0 votes (0%)
MICROMEDEX 2.0 (Includes POISINDEX): 0 votes (0%)
Ergonomics Abstracts: 0 votes (0%)
Total Votes: 24

5. Follow-up

What would you like to know more about?

5. Follow-up
Finding a specific database or other resource (i.e.book)?: 1 votes (3.85%)
Better searching methods or search terms: 15 votes (57.69%)
Determining how to retrive the full-text on-line: 7 votes (26.92%)
Managing my citations for writing papers.: 3 votes (11.54%)
Total Votes: 26